Home Made Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
The WORST recipe I have ever tried to make! Nothing but a puddle of greasy. Do not recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doubletapgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was very bland and flavorless. I had to add salt. It was also quite pale and a bit limp. I think I prefer the Julia Child recipe, which is essentially the same as this one, but with the addition of two egg yolks, a bit more oil, as well as carefully measured salt and white pepper. I added Julia's two yolks, some fresh tarragon from the garden and it was much better. Remember to use pure olive oil, not extra virgin, as that will harden and separate in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This way better then store bought mayo. Excellent rescipe. Thanks for this. Now I can customize how I like it. A KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I have tried this three times now. Still can't get it to be anything but a puddle. Tomorrow I will try one more time with my food processor instead of my blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Great recipe, after I made it a added a bit of Dijon with horseradish and mikes it in with my lobster! Fabulous!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My husband & I recently started the True Food lovers program and one of the steps is to become a label detective. It is truly amazing how many additives and preservatives are added to store bought mayo. This recipe is AMAZING! (I actually used eggbeaters as one reviewee suggested and wow!) My kids and husband can't get enough. Remember the trick to making this recipe perfectly, is to add the oil, REALLY slowly to the eggbase in the food processor. I WILL NEVER BUY STORE BOUGHT MAYO AGAIN (at least try :) Thank you for this amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
This was very good. I can see many possibilities to add different herbs/spices specific to the recipe you are using this with. I used a mini food processor but the immersion blender works the best as you don't have to pour the oil in slowly. You just add all the ingredients and blend. I used ½ cup grapeseed oil and ¼ cup roasted garlic grapeseed oil. I didn't add the garlic. I used lime juice instead of lemon. Next time I might try making this with the egg beaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2011
This was very easy and turned out terrific. I cannot have soy or milk and love tuna and egg salad. Used this for the mayonnaise cookies also. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
Won't use EVOO next time. It's too strong. I will try a milder oil. Overall it came out ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
great texture and turned out great in my regular blender. i used olive oil though and i didn't really like the flavor so now i have mayo in the fridge i probably won't use! trying again today with regular oil and really excited to see how it tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Homemade Horseradish

See how incredibly easy it is to make fresh horseradish from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States