Home Made Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
A stick blender is key in this recipe...thank you to all those who suggested it! I made several attempts to make this in my blender, and became increasingly frustrated with each greasy, gloppy end result (after slowww pouring of the olive oil). "The stick blender makes it in less than one minute. Place all ingredients in the bottom of a tall narrow container that your stick blender can fit easily in. Place blender all the way to the bottom, turn on and slowly raise the blender. If any of the oil doesn't blend right in, just move the blender up and down to incorporate!" Thank you to Cynthia for the recipe and Robinm for the stick blender idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
My first time making mayo...very, very important to add the oil extremely slowly. I used olive oil & loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This was excellent! We had chicken burgers for dinner and realized I had no mayo for the buns. I looked up this recipe and made it. It was so quick and while I was afraid it wouldn't taste like "real" mayonnaise, I was pleasantly surprised! It looked and tasted just like real mayonnaise. I think we'll be making our own from now on and save some money! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This mayo ROCKS! It is nice and thick and doesn't use xanathan gum or other thickeners for the right consistency. The garlic... thank you! The pepper... never thought of that one, but AWESOME. My children LOVE it, I LOVE it. This mayo is a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
The WORST recipe I have ever tried to make! Nothing but a puddle of greasy. Do not recommend
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by doubletapgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This was very bland and flavorless. I had to add salt. It was also quite pale and a bit limp. I think I prefer the Julia Child recipe, which is essentially the same as this one, but with the addition of two egg yolks, a bit more oil, as well as carefully measured salt and white pepper. I added Julia's two yolks, some fresh tarragon from the garden and it was much better. Remember to use pure olive oil, not extra virgin, as that will harden and separate in the refrigerator.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
This way better then store bought mayo. Excellent rescipe. Thanks for this. Now I can customize how I like it. A KEEPER.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I have tried this three times now. Still can't get it to be anything but a puddle. Tomorrow I will try one more time with my food processor instead of my blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Great recipe, after I made it a added a bit of Dijon with horseradish and mikes it in with my lobster! Fabulous!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
My husband & I recently started the True Food lovers program and one of the steps is to become a label detective. It is truly amazing how many additives and preservatives are added to store bought mayo. This recipe is AMAZING! (I actually used eggbeaters as one reviewee suggested and wow!) My kids and husband can't get enough. Remember the trick to making this recipe perfectly, is to add the oil, REALLY slowly to the eggbase in the food processor. I WILL NEVER BUY STORE BOUGHT MAYO AGAIN (at least try :) Thank you for this amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 89) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Chef John's Remoulade Sauce

A simple homemade sauce for crab cakes and grilled or broiled fish.

Homemade Horseradish

See how incredibly easy it is to make fresh horseradish from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States