Home Made Mayonnaise Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I want to say thank you so much for sharing your recipe. Long story short I realized I was all out of store bought mayonnaise when I was making my hubby's lunch. My daughter started looking online and came across your recipe. We love it! I will never buy store bought mayonnaise again. I mixed all the ingredients in the blender then I added the oil slowly while it was blending. The whole recipe was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
very good mayo i didn't change a thing. i hate it when people try to doctor up a good recipe. dont worry about the raw egg the acid in the lemon juice chemical cooks the egg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2012
The trick to great mayonnaise is adding 1 tsp cold water because it spaces the fat molecules thus creating a stronger more stable emulsion. Thank-you NY Times for that tip!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
For a stand alone mayonnaise to use on bread, I find it a bit too garlicky (and I LOVE garlic and lots of it, but this was just too much), so I'll be cutting the garlic quite a lot, BUT as it is here in the recipe I find this mayonnaise makes the most incredible potato salad when used in that. My potato salad made with this mayonnaise gets rave reviews and now I get requested to bring it to meals. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2012
I have tried to make mayo before in the blender and it was upredictable whether it would emulsify or not. This time, I put the egg in warm water first (i didn't want to wait for it to come to room temp), and I used the stick blender. It was amazing! I'll never use the blender again. The flavor of this mayo is really good too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
This was so easy! I took the advice of another reviewer and just dumped everything in my immersion blender jar, blended for 30 seconds, and voila--mayonnaise with the same texture as store bought. The only thing I don't like about mine is that I used half melted coconut oil and half olive oil; the taste of the olive oil is pretty strong. It still tastes good and next time I'll try extra light olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
A stick blender is key in this recipe...thank you to all those who suggested it! I made several attempts to make this in my blender, and became increasingly frustrated with each greasy, gloppy end result (after slowww pouring of the olive oil). "The stick blender makes it in less than one minute. Place all ingredients in the bottom of a tall narrow container that your stick blender can fit easily in. Place blender all the way to the bottom, turn on and slowly raise the blender. If any of the oil doesn't blend right in, just move the blender up and down to incorporate!" Thank you to Cynthia for the recipe and Robinm for the stick blender idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
My first time making mayo...very, very important to add the oil extremely slowly. I used olive oil & loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
This was excellent! We had chicken burgers for dinner and realized I had no mayo for the buns. I looked up this recipe and made it. It was so quick and while I was afraid it wouldn't taste like "real" mayonnaise, I was pleasantly surprised! It looked and tasted just like real mayonnaise. I think we'll be making our own from now on and save some money! Thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa McBride Roberts

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarborough, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
This mayo ROCKS! It is nice and thick and doesn't use xanathan gum or other thickeners for the right consistency. The garlic... thank you! The pepper... never thought of that one, but AWESOME. My children LOVE it, I LOVE it. This mayo is a HIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Mayonnaise

See how to use a stick blender to make easy homemade mayonnaise.

Home Made Top Tarts!

See how to make your favorite toaster pastries from scratch.

Best Banana Pudding

An impressive, 5-star banana pudding that's surprisingly easy to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States