Home Made Farmer's Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
I tried to make this cheese,a pinch of salt..... heated the milk till the bubbles came to the edges and added the lemon juice....poured it into a cheese cloth....but no cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
I tried this recipe, followed very carefully, and I never saw much of anything in the way of curds. Basically I still had milk. I was very excited to try it, and it didn't work for me, which was disapointing to say the least. Waited a lot of milk as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBEB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2005
We were skeptical and scared yet hopeful after reading everyone elses reviews on this recipe. But we tried it. We stood over the pot for a really really really long time. We finally saw some bubbles and got excited and added 1/4 cup of lemon juice and waited 10 minutes. We were crushed because it only yielded about 1/4 cup of cheese. My friend here cried and swore she would never make cheese again. Since it sort of worked and we had all this leftover milk, we decided just to do it again. We had nothing to lose. We heated up the milk again (which took much less time since it was already almost boiling) and when it started to bubble we threw in another 1/4 of lemon juice. (This makes two lemons of juice now.) This time, we had almost immediate results! The glee and glory we felt was great. It actually made a good pound or so of cheese this time. What next? Disneyland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
157 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
This is great! I make buttermilk by adding 1 T of lemon juice to 1 C milk and wait 5 min. If the milk doesn't curdle, you either don't have enough lemon juice or did not wait long enough. After making the cheese, save the left over butter milk for pancakes (my kids love buttermilk pancakes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2006
this recipe makes wonderful, versatile soft cheese! i think the other reviewers had a problem because of the temperature of the milk when they added the juice. also, lemons vary in size, so measure the juice (or white vinegar works, too). to a gallon of milk, heated to 190 degrees, 1/4 c vinegar or lemon juice should work. and please, use a thermometer! don't rely on "bubbles" which could form at a much lower temperature depending on your altitude! also, let it sit for a full 10 minutes to let the curds fully form! i use 4 layers of cheesecloth (it usually comes folded in half in the packages i buy, so i fold that in half again) so no curds slip through. strain your whey into a container and if it is not yellow, but WHITE, heat the milk and do it all again... the white means there are still milk solids (cheese) contained in the whey that you can extract. when it is through dripping whey out of the cheesecloth (an hour or two) unwrap it and put it in a container in the fridge. i usually make ricotta out of it by sticking the curds in the blender, adding a little milk and blending until smooth. i have made the BEST lasagna with it... VERY creamy mouthfeel and melts delightfully! next, i'm going to try making tangier cream cheese by mixing it with plain, lightly salted yogurt cheese (recipe from this site, but leave out the garlic and black pepper) which is much smoother! PLEASE don't give up on making cheese! try my tips and see how it turns out! thanks, mlyin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
584 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sourdough girl

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I use buttermilk and it works much better. I just put the half gallon container in a large pot, turn it on and wait for the water to boil when the water starts boiling, wait 10 minutes and turn water off. let sit in the water until cooled (about 2 hours) then pour into cheesecloth and drain for 4-12 hours and "bam" great farmers cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
230 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Second try, it went better: much more lemon, I saw yellow liquid...left outside from eve to morn in a very windy night, it came out dry this time. I'll keep trying, but this is the right way
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dayna~rae
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
This recipe worked wonderfully for me. It made a cream-cheese-like cheese. My only compliant might be that it wasn't salty enough. But I suppose you could put this on salty crackers and it would be fine. Note---I halved the recipe just to try it---1/2 gallon of milk, juice of 1/2 a lemon. Also, I didn't use fresh milk, I used week-old milk. Worked beautifully, thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dayna~rae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belton, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
That's almost the way my Grand Mother was doing it except she wouldn't use lemon (as it was not really avaiable in polish country side) but just let stay fresh unpasterized milk for about 2 days to allow it to get sour by itself. The rest is the same. I would suggest not to throw away whey - if drunk,it is a all-natural detox for your body (ie. hangover), if applied on skin, cure for sunburn and, well, it taste good as well :) As for variations - traditionally we add finelly chopped fresh herbs (parsley, spring onion's green) with more salt and some pepper but you can add about anything (my Mother's special was farmer cheese mixed with smoked mackrel and onions - tastes great but no kissing afterward ;) ).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
(Sept. '08)Since lemons vary so much in acidity and yield of juice, I have had much better and more consistent results using white vinegar. I started with a quarter cup, as I did not want a vinegary taste, but it was not sufficient to fully curdle the milk, and I had to repeat the process. A scant half a cup worked perfectly, and no vinegar taste that I could discern. Although the whey looks kind of gross, it's a great ingredient, especially for stews and soups, to which it adds body and richness. I, however, usually mix it with my dog's food. He LOVES it OK fast forward 2 years...(Oct, 2010) I've probably made this 40 or 50 times - whenever milk is on sale- and it always works. Sometimes the curd is finer than other times. Sometimes it takes longer to set up. but it's always good. I only use whole milk and I only use white vinegar. It gives a more consistent result and I think a better, cleaner taste. I pour about a cup of milk out of the gallon jug (to make room), set the jug in a pot of water big enough to hold it, and put it on very low heat. When the water simmers, I turn off the gas, add a half cup of vinegar, give it a quick stir with something long, and just leave it for a couple hours until everything is cool (be careful. At first, the jug is very hot and pliable) - then just pour it out of the jug into the prepared sieve. I like that there is nothing much to clean up. I salt to taste afterwards depending on what I'll use it for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States