Home Made Farmer's Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
WOW! I really can't believe this works! I had a box of UHT milk that went bad somehow, so I thought it was worth the experiement and it really worked. I did not have any cheese cloth OR pantyhose, but a regular dish towel worked fine and did not even stick. Amazing! Will do it again for sure, probably adding some flavors. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LoveNCyprus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Malaga, Andalucia, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Followed the directions used 1/2 gal of milk and an 1/8 cup lemon juice. The result was very little curd after 10 minutes. Ran liquid thru cheesecloth then took the remaining liquid and reheated then tried the white vinegar. Within seconds my liquid separated into curd and whey. My recommendation is not to waste time on the lemon juice but go straight for the vinegar. 1/2 gal of milk produced 1 cup of cheese. Next time I do this I might try different vinegars and see how this affects the flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
Quite excellent simply because of how easy it was. It turned out fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Awesome. I've been wanting to try to make cheese forever, but figured it would be difficult. I decided to just try a small batch and it is totally cheese! Now I'm thinking of so many creative things to make using this basic recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Wigan, Lancashire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Don't throw away the whey! It can be used as a buttermilk substitute. I've used it in biscuits, gravy and many other things where milk is called for, adding a unique flavor. The easiest way that I've found to keep it is to pre-measure amounts, pour that into small ziploc bags and freeze. That way you have a handy supply that only takes a few minutes to thaw in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Marlborough, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
I had no problems with the cheese forming. And I followed the recipe exactly. But I didn't like the flavor or the texture of the cheese. The flavor really wasn't bad it just wasn't there. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I halved this recipe since it was my first time making it. I put the milk in the pan straight from the fridge and so it took a long time to heat up and it scorched - I'll let it reach room temperature first next time. I added the juice of half a lemon and nothing happened. So I added the other half and voila! The curds seperated from the whey so quickly I didn't need to wait 10 minutes! The cheese came out beautifully! However, it is rather bland, with only the slightest taste of lemon. Next time I will add herbs and spices (I'm thinking sun dried tomatoes and basil or hot peppers would be wonderful). I used the cheese to attempt a grilled cheese sandwich. Unfortunately, the cheese didn't melt well at all and I was rather disappointed. I'll try using it in other recipes to see how versatile it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raye of Sunshine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ledyard, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Awful! I ended up throwing a whole gallon of milk and the juice of one whole lemon down the drain - no cheese whatsoever. Big waste of time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2009
I took the advice of the reviews after trying this recipe the first time. I got a much better yeild. I also let the milk come to room temperature, and that will help to keep the milk from scorching before coming to temperature. Good idea...fun for the kids and my son came in 2nd in the science fair for making cheese!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pinewood, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
Thanks Mylin! I used 2% milk. I even blundered by putting the lemon juice in before cooking. After cooking I did put in some additional vinegar and "poof" it was like magic when the curds formed! Fun for the kids to watch too. Will never buy ricotta or farmer's cheese again! Will try with some fresh herbs as a spread for crackers, yum...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States