Home Made Farmer's Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
What a great recipe! I can't believe how easy it was to make farmers cheese! I wanted to make perogies for my husband, but the closest place I know of to get farmers cheese is almost an hour away, so I thought I would give it a try. I halved the recipe (only because I didn't want to waste a whole gallon of milk if it didn't work). I did have 2 cups of heavy cream in the frige that had just expired, so I threw that in there too. I didn't have any luck with the leftover whey, but I didn't expect to because it was pretty clear. The cheese turned out sweet and velvety, I am really hoping that I have enough for the perogies after I've been taste testing it! I will be making this all the time. AMAZING!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pnutmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Rivers, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
PLEASE READ: Do NOT use skimmed milk. It will curdle and give you rubber cheese. I know the recipe called for whole milk, and it does so for a reason. I had both so did a test. Whole milk wins hands down! Made with whole milk and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DianeTampa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Beautiful recipe!! The vinegar seems to be the key, and since I don't want the lemon flavor in my cheese, I'll stick to vinegar - Farmer's cheese IS bland after all. I come from an Eastern European family and my great aunts miss good Farmer's cheese for their recipes. Well, now I can make it, AND our traditional recipes like Plakcinta and Hunklich!! Thanks so much!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HoneyTiger3m

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
This was great. I used it as part of my X-mas gift to some co-workers, Very easy and impressive. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
So easy and delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This did not come out..it was way too watery. I had to add another lemon and a quarter cup of white vinegar to make it curdle..it's still sitting on my stove...I hate to waste a whole gallon of milk!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I made this with a half gallon of whole milk. I followed other reviewer's recommendations and used a vinegar/lemon juice blend. Curds formed immediately. I waited the full ten minutes before straining through clean panty hose. I got just over a cup of cheese and seasoned it with garlic, onion, black pepper, paprika and celery salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari Livingston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I've made this a few times for my family and they love it!:) I want to try it with goat milk but haven't yet!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
Ingredients 1.) 1/2 Liter of milk, (very little curdage, must be ultra pasturized, don't know, because everything is in korean xD) 2.) x amount of whipping creme 3.) half a lemon 4.) half a teaspoon of salt Absolutely loved this recipe, added a little twist though , just made a starter batch thus far but will attempt again. I'm living in korea and haven't bought a measuring cup yet so I had to improvise, used a 500ml water bottle to measure out half a liter of milk, then added, x amount of whipping cream (notched bottle, 2nd notch from bottom, something like 1/6th of 500ml, and yes I'm horrible at math so don't ask what 1/6th of 500ml would be) xD. brought this to a slight boil for 30 seconds, then turned off the heat, added half a lemon/juice and slowly stirred it in, let sit for 10, realised I forgot to add salt, added salt, 3 pinches -ish and brought back to a light boil, let stand for 10 then poured out into collander w paper towels, have a very soft cheese, very little curd, firm in the fridge, has a wonderful hint of lemon and is outstandingly refreshing, wonderful recipe, thanks again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
WOW! I actually just finished this! It worked. I did a full gallon of milk - first time around I kind of scortched it and didn't get much out of it. I cleaned the pot and reheated the milk (was still white). I got it boiling again and added another 1/4 cup of lemon juice and now a have A LOT of farmers cheese! I am so excited! My family is doing a project like we are eating like the world and this week we choose Poland for our country and so many recipies called for Farmers Cheese! So happy I found this recipe here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States