Home Made Farmer's Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2015
First time I tried this was ez and good. Second time nothing happened, must have been that ultra pasturized milk. My question now is can I try this with old milk that has expired in frig? Wouldn't that be like sour cream? Please let me know as I've a gallon of milk still aging in frig--or should I just trash it? I've used this in former recipes when buttermilk was called for and it tasted fine & no one got ill or even noticed anything "sour". I hate wasting food ( especially since prices have soared), but no dollar amount compares to someone's health & wellness (which includes good flavor)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathi Yeagley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I pressed mine under 10 pounds of weight for two hours. It turned out fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BALUKE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Like other reviewers, I needed more acid, so in addition to the lemon I added 1/4 c. vinegar and it turned out wonderfully! I plan to play around with different milks, seasonings and even vinegars for subtle nuances.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
Reduced recipe to accomodate my pot size... Half gallon of whole milk to 1/8 C white vinegar. I let the milk just come to the beginning of a boil and removed from the heat. Added some salt and then my acid, stirred once and it curdled. Super easy. All that was left behind was the yellow whey. Can't wait to make it again. I want to try with goats milk from the farmers market...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lilac
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Thank you for this recipe and helpful reviews. I moved to Oklahoma where soft farmer's cheese wasn't available. This saves one of my family's best recipes. I used white vinegar. 1c per gallon of whole milk. I let it sit as suggested for about 8 minutes and it made about a pound of cheese. It was mild and a tad sweet. No vinegar flavor and all pure whey left. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilac

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I followed this recipe to a T, but got bad results. I even used a thermometer to make sure it reached the temp that some have indicated was needed, 190*F. I got mostly all milk with a teensy bit of whey. I'm just glad that I only made a half recipe. I did have high hopes for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
We are making Pirogi's tomorrow for Christmas dinner and I didn't get to the wholesale market to purchase my farmers cheese. I decided to try this recipe. I followed everything except I used vinegar instead of lemon juice. It worked perfectly!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I tried the recipe and it came out well... As per another reviewer, I boiled the whey second time with more lemon juice and the cheese separated from water completely.... very simple and easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I had curds and whey before I added the vinegar. Do I still add the vinegar? Did anyway. I plan to save the whey for use on other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe twice, with some success. I used a 1/2 gallon of whole, organic, pasteurized (not ultra-pasteurized) milk and 1/4 cup of white distilled vinegar. I used a candy thermometer to tell when the milk got to 190 F, and added the vinegar. The milk curdled almost immediately. After setting up, I used a jelly-strainer bag to squeeze the last of the whey out of the cheese. The first batch made a nice, semi-firm cheese, but with only about a 1/4 tsp of salt in the mix, it wasn't overly flavorful. Not bad, but not exciting. It does have a nice mouth-feel, so it's satisfying that way. I just made a second batch with the other half-gallon of milk I had left. This time, after draining most of the whey, I transferred the curds to a bowl and added some jalapenos, onions, red pepper flakes, and more salt (about 3/4 tsp). It turned out much more satisfying. So the moral of this story is that this is a good recipe, just experiment for yourself to find a flavor that you like. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Awesome Broccoli Cheese Casserole

See how to make a classic, creamy and cheesy broccoli casserole.

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States