Home Made Farmer's Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
We are making Pirogi's tomorrow for Christmas dinner and I didn't get to the wholesale market to purchase my farmers cheese. I decided to try this recipe. I followed everything except I used vinegar instead of lemon juice. It worked perfectly!! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I tried the recipe and it came out well... As per another reviewer, I boiled the whey second time with more lemon juice and the cheese separated from water completely.... very simple and easy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I had curds and whey before I added the vinegar. Do I still add the vinegar? Did anyway. I plan to save the whey for use on other things.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
I tried this recipe twice, with some success. I used a 1/2 gallon of whole, organic, pasteurized (not ultra-pasteurized) milk and 1/4 cup of white distilled vinegar. I used a candy thermometer to tell when the milk got to 190 F, and added the vinegar. The milk curdled almost immediately. After setting up, I used a jelly-strainer bag to squeeze the last of the whey out of the cheese. The first batch made a nice, semi-firm cheese, but with only about a 1/4 tsp of salt in the mix, it wasn't overly flavorful. Not bad, but not exciting. It does have a nice mouth-feel, so it's satisfying that way. I just made a second batch with the other half-gallon of milk I had left. This time, after draining most of the whey, I transferred the curds to a bowl and added some jalapenos, onions, red pepper flakes, and more salt (about 3/4 tsp). It turned out much more satisfying. So the moral of this story is that this is a good recipe, just experiment for yourself to find a flavor that you like. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
As written, I give this a 3 stars. You have to bring the milk to a full boil, not just bubbles around the edge or it doesn't make hardly any cheese. If you bring it a full boil, you'll have no problem getting it to set up. I tried this recipe again and used the microwave to heat the milk. It took a long time because of the volume of liquid but it was much easier, not so much stirring or worrying about the milk scorching on the bottom of the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Muncie, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
I've made this before, maybe 5 years ago, i heated the milk for a short time, and the result was a cheese that tasted like glue, i added little salt and the vinegar overpowered it. I made it once more today and the taste was amazing, as well as the texture, if at first you don't succeed :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
I'm glad I read all 63 previous reviews, I used vinegar, and used the one reviewers method of heating the milk in the jug, it worked great! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because it has taken ALL DAY to strain through 2 layers of cheesecloth...Maybe I should have used a single layer? Was really hoping to make pierogi TODAY...wish I had done it last night!Ready in 25 minutes, HAH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2013
I'd like to try this. I'd like to add a little garlic, parsley, and some green onion. Should I do this during the cooking or after. If after while its cooling or after draining the whey. thanks for any advice. RD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Prefer the vinegar method but I did use this for a recipe that had lemons in it "Ricotta Stuffed Zucchini. Tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
My mom used to make a hot sausage frittata and mixed farmers, or basket cheese into the egg mixture. That is sometimes hard to find in a store except around Easter time (the good kind). This is a very easy recipe to make your own cheese. I used whole mlk, and once the milk was over 190 degrees i mixed 1/2 lemon juice and 1/2 cider vinegar, turned off the heat and let the magic happen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Haven, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Down Home Baked Beans

Chili sauce, chopped bacon, and brown sugar add big flavor to baked beans.

Duck Fat-Fried Home Fries

See how to make home fries pan-fried in a bit of flavor-giving duck fat.

Southern Mac & Cheese Pie

See how to make this cheesy, custardy comfort-food classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States