Home-Made Cream of Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I used it to "help" the Weight Watchers soup recipe to be more tolerable and this was wonderful. It enriched a basic calorie concerned recipe a lot and was tasty on it's own too. Thanks much Holly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALIESIN61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Good substitute for canned soup. (especially in Central Asia where I can't get it!)I added more flour later, next time I would probably make it with 1-2 more tablespoons of flour from the start (and maybe another tablespoon of oil?) to make it the consistency of the condensed soup. substituted half of milk with chicken broth, didn't use garlic, salt or sugar. It was nice and thick, but half the recipe was not quite 2 cans-worth of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I used this recipe as a base for a chicken and dumpling recipe from this site that called for canned cream of chicken soup. I modified it a tad by subbing butter for oil, eliminated the sugar and the chicken, and used 3 cups milk and 4 cups chicken broth but I needed all that liquid for the other recipe that used a lot of chicken and biscuits. So I am not sure how much liquid I used specifically from this recipe since I sort of combined the recipes but I did have to use cornstarch to thicken it some. I'm rating it 5 stars because it is a great recipe versus the horrible processed canned soup with MSG and high sodium content. I will definitely make this again every time a recipe calls for canned soup. I am planning on making a different recipe (chicken and noodle casserole) using this recipe as a base for that too. My husband, toddler and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was wonderful, with lots of scope for experimenting. My daughter is gluten-intolerant, so we can't use the canned stuff anymore.We'd still use this either way, as this was so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Ignored the sugar added twice the garlic and salt and peppered to taste, and this dish turned out great. I used it for my chicken pot pie recipe as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedford Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Superb. I made this almost exactly leaving out only the sugar. I'm currently using it as an ingredient in another recipe it's so good (Baked Chicken Broccoli and Rice by Campbell's Kitchen) in place of the suggested Cream of Chicken and Broccoli Condensed Soup. My eldest daughter wanted me to add that this soup six stars out of five. She's a "cream of ..." connousieur. My husband is very impressed with the recipe as well and hopes to make it into our regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Salafia
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
I've always bought the canned soup for recipes, but after finding this recipe for homemade soup, I'll never go back to store bought again. It's super economical, not to mention it tastes WAY better! I did add a bouillon cube and left out the chicken. I also subbed butter for the oil, and left out the sugar. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awhitmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
Love the flavor with the garlic. I used olive oil instead of canola- much healthier. Also I did not add the sugar. It was delicious. I tasted and loved the taste so I decided it did not need it. I love this recipe because store bought stuff has msg in it. Also this is much cheaper. I also did not add the chicken and added 1/2 teas. sp. chicken bouillon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I made the homemade cream of chicken soup for lunch, here are my adjustments; I had some leftover baked turkey, used it instead of chicken, used butter instead of oil, added a small onion, fresh chives and 1/4 clove of garlic. Reduced sugar to 1 teaspoon. It was delicious, will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
I loved this. I added another Tbs of flour to thicken it up and added home made dumplings. It was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States