Home-Made Cream of Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This turned out great! Here are my adjustments: butter instead of oil, no garlic, no sugar (didn't even see it in the recipe until later, thank goodness), used 2 c. chicken broth and 2 c. milk, a couple of handfuls of cooked fine egg noodles. For meat I used a large breast which I poached while making the soup. I also added a couple of handfuls of frozen sweet corn and peas. Sounds like a lot of adjustments but it was really just common sense. Thanks, Holly, for the jumping off point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
144 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachael
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I was very excited to make my own cream of chicken soup for other recipes because I prefer to not buy canned foods. I took other reviewers' advice and used 2 cups of milk w/ 2 cups of chicken stock. I omitted the sugar, garlic powder & salt; added chopped parsley for color. It turned out great. FYI: This recipe makes the equivalent of about 4 cans. I put some in a jar to give to friend as a gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
I did not like this at all. I think it was the sugar it was really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
another good recipe that you may need to change a bit to suit your taste. i used one tablespoon sugar, 4 cups half and half, 2 minced garlic toes and 1 tablespoon fresh ground pepper. my sons and i ate this with a green salad and the south louisiana staple.....crusty french bread. a previous reviewer gave this recipe one star but if you check her previous reviews you'll find that there is not much in this site that he/she likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Good, with the following changes: Cooked the chicken, a large onion and two cloves of garlic in a couple T's of butter with poultry seasoning until softened, then removed from the pot and cooked the roux until the flour was light gold. Added the milk and chicken mixture back in, then added some carrots and a few potatos. A little tumeric and paprika gave it a wonderful gold color. Omitted the sugar. A creamy, filling, hearty soup that warms you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
I made this to put into a chicken pot pie recipie but tasted it before I added it. It was very tasty. I used whole milk and only made enough for 2 servings. I would suggest adding steamed brocclli, oniions, and cheese if you like veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Glad I read the review! NO SUGAR NEEDED! I used 3 T. of butter, 4 T. flour, 1 can of chicken broth and 1/2 c milk. Using it in an incredible chicken rice recipe--didn't want to waste gas going to store for one thing! Thanks for the starting point Holly, and thanks to others for advice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I used butter instead of oil and I didn't use sugar and added a little bit of fresh chopped parsley. Also instead of 4 cups of milk I made it with 3 cups of milk and one cup chicken broth it was very good!! we all loved it! Simple and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I omitted the sugar, but otherwise kept the recipe the same. Mine came out very thin, so I added the cornstarch at the end. I would start out using the cornstarch in place of the flour next time. I used this in casseroles, and it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I made this twice. Once as written and again with some changes. As written, this is too sweet and bland. Also too soupy. Not at all thick in the amount of cooking time listed. The second time I made some changes that improved the flavor and thickness. I boiled 2 chicken breasts and used 2 cups of the broth and 2 cups milk. I did not add sugar. I substituted the garlic and salt for one chicken boullion cube. I then simmered this over medium low for about an hour (until it reduced by half). I then added a little bit of cornstarch to thicken it a little more. If comparing this to the canned variety, with the changes I made this is very close. After reducing I only ended up with about 2 1/2 cups of finished soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States