Home-Made Cream of Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This turned out great! Here are my adjustments: butter instead of oil, no garlic, no sugar (didn't even see it in the recipe until later, thank goodness), used 2 c. chicken broth and 2 c. milk, a couple of handfuls of cooked fine egg noodles. For meat I used a large breast which I poached while making the soup. I also added a couple of handfuls of frozen sweet corn and peas. Sounds like a lot of adjustments but it was really just common sense. Thanks, Holly, for the jumping off point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rachael
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I was very excited to make my own cream of chicken soup for other recipes because I prefer to not buy canned foods. I took other reviewers' advice and used 2 cups of milk w/ 2 cups of chicken stock. I omitted the sugar, garlic powder & salt; added chopped parsley for color. It turned out great. FYI: This recipe makes the equivalent of about 4 cans. I put some in a jar to give to friend as a gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
I did not like this at all. I think it was the sugar it was really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
another good recipe that you may need to change a bit to suit your taste. i used one tablespoon sugar, 4 cups half and half, 2 minced garlic toes and 1 tablespoon fresh ground pepper. my sons and i ate this with a green salad and the south louisiana staple.....crusty french bread. a previous reviewer gave this recipe one star but if you check her previous reviews you'll find that there is not much in this site that he/she likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Good, with the following changes: Cooked the chicken, a large onion and two cloves of garlic in a couple T's of butter with poultry seasoning until softened, then removed from the pot and cooked the roux until the flour was light gold. Added the milk and chicken mixture back in, then added some carrots and a few potatos. A little tumeric and paprika gave it a wonderful gold color. Omitted the sugar. A creamy, filling, hearty soup that warms you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
I made this to put into a chicken pot pie recipie but tasted it before I added it. It was very tasty. I used whole milk and only made enough for 2 servings. I would suggest adding steamed brocclli, oniions, and cheese if you like veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Glad I read the review! NO SUGAR NEEDED! I used 3 T. of butter, 4 T. flour, 1 can of chicken broth and 1/2 c milk. Using it in an incredible chicken rice recipe--didn't want to waste gas going to store for one thing! Thanks for the starting point Holly, and thanks to others for advice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I used butter instead of oil and I didn't use sugar and added a little bit of fresh chopped parsley. Also instead of 4 cups of milk I made it with 3 cups of milk and one cup chicken broth it was very good!! we all loved it! Simple and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I omitted the sugar, but otherwise kept the recipe the same. Mine came out very thin, so I added the cornstarch at the end. I would start out using the cornstarch in place of the flour next time. I used this in casseroles, and it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is a great recipe. I have used it several times now for recipes calling for cream of chicken soup. I only use 1tbs of the sugar and I always use one cube of chicken bullion. It is so good! Do not forget the garlic powder, it really adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States