Home-Made Cream of Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2000
I did not like this at all. I think it was the sugar it was really sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
another good recipe that you may need to change a bit to suit your taste. i used one tablespoon sugar, 4 cups half and half, 2 minced garlic toes and 1 tablespoon fresh ground pepper. my sons and i ate this with a green salad and the south louisiana staple.....crusty french bread. a previous reviewer gave this recipe one star but if you check her previous reviews you'll find that there is not much in this site that he/she likes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Covington, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2004
I made this to put into a chicken pot pie recipie but tasted it before I added it. It was very tasty. I used whole milk and only made enough for 2 servings. I would suggest adding steamed brocclli, oniions, and cheese if you like veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2004
I used it to "help" the Weight Watchers soup recipe to be more tolerable and this was wonderful. It enriched a basic calorie concerned recipe a lot and was tasty on it's own too. Thanks much Holly!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TALIESIN61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
Recommend cutting the sugar a bit, was a tad too sweet. I also added sauteed shallots, garlic, carrots and a few cooked potatoes chopped up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
The first time I made it, I wasn't very impressed by this recipe. It was WAAAY too sweet and peppery, and didn't have enough of a chicken taste. I made it again, but the second time I only used half the sugar, half the pepper, and I substituted chicken buillion(sp?) granules for the salt. Much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hammond, Indiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2007
This turned out great! Here are my adjustments: butter instead of oil, no garlic, no sugar (didn't even see it in the recipe until later, thank goodness), used 2 c. chicken broth and 2 c. milk, a couple of handfuls of cooked fine egg noodles. For meat I used a large breast which I poached while making the soup. I also added a couple of handfuls of frozen sweet corn and peas. Sounds like a lot of adjustments but it was really just common sense. Thanks, Holly, for the jumping off point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Good, with the following changes: Cooked the chicken, a large onion and two cloves of garlic in a couple T's of butter with poultry seasoning until softened, then removed from the pot and cooked the roux until the flour was light gold. Added the milk and chicken mixture back in, then added some carrots and a few potatos. A little tumeric and paprika gave it a wonderful gold color. Omitted the sugar. A creamy, filling, hearty soup that warms you up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I omitted the sugar, but otherwise kept the recipe the same. Mine came out very thin, so I added the cornstarch at the end. I would start out using the cornstarch in place of the flour next time. I used this in casseroles, and it tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I used butter instead of oil and I didn't use sugar and added a little bit of fresh chopped parsley. Also instead of 4 cups of milk I made it with 3 cups of milk and one cup chicken broth it was very good!! we all loved it! Simple and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States