Home-Made Cream of Chicken Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
This is a great recipe. I have used it several times now for recipes calling for cream of chicken soup. I only use 1tbs of the sugar and I always use one cube of chicken bullion. It is so good! Do not forget the garlic powder, it really adds a nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I used this recipe as a base for a chicken and dumpling recipe from this site that called for canned cream of chicken soup. I modified it a tad by subbing butter for oil, eliminated the sugar and the chicken, and used 3 cups milk and 4 cups chicken broth but I needed all that liquid for the other recipe that used a lot of chicken and biscuits. So I am not sure how much liquid I used specifically from this recipe since I sort of combined the recipes but I did have to use cornstarch to thicken it some. I'm rating it 5 stars because it is a great recipe versus the horrible processed canned soup with MSG and high sodium content. I will definitely make this again every time a recipe calls for canned soup. I am planning on making a different recipe (chicken and noodle casserole) using this recipe as a base for that too. My husband, toddler and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Ignored the sugar added twice the garlic and salt and peppered to taste, and this dish turned out great. I used it for my chicken pot pie recipe as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bedford Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
This was wonderful, with lots of scope for experimenting. My daughter is gluten-intolerant, so we can't use the canned stuff anymore.We'd still use this either way, as this was so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
Good substitute for canned soup. (especially in Central Asia where I can't get it!)I added more flour later, next time I would probably make it with 1-2 more tablespoons of flour from the start (and maybe another tablespoon of oil?) to make it the consistency of the condensed soup. substituted half of milk with chicken broth, didn't use garlic, salt or sugar. It was nice and thick, but half the recipe was not quite 2 cans-worth of soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Make sure you do not add the sugar. It is way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
Family has a lot of allergies; this was a great recipe to make the dish I wanted while ensuring no outbreaks. Easy and no one could tell the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
not my favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This recipe was great! I used 2 chicken bouillon cubes instead of salt, I added in some onion powder, and would recommend leaving out the sugar. This is also great with your leftover Thanksgiving turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
Glad I read the review! NO SUGAR NEEDED! I used 3 T. of butter, 4 T. flour, 1 can of chicken broth and 1/2 c milk. Using it in an incredible chicken rice recipe--didn't want to waste gas going to store for one thing! Thanks for the starting point Holly, and thanks to others for advice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elinor Gray

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Living In: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chicken Soup

See how to make homemade chicken soup.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Watch Chef John make a simple, soothing chicken noodle soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States