Home-Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2005
A good starter recipe. Really no need to boil the potatoes first....that's just another pan to wash. I use an electric skillet. Melt a little butter and add a little oil. Throw in the diced potatoes, with the skin on, and as much sweet onion as you like. I use vidalia or mayan. Skip the green pepper. Then just get happy with the spices. We like celery seed, a touch of cumin, a dash of paprika, salt and pepper, garlic powder, whatever we happen to grab. It always comes out deelish. Definitely good for breakfast, lunch or anytime. For dinner we might throw a little gravy and maybe some shredded cheese on them. Always crispy if I leave the lid on. I don't have the problem another reviewer has with them not crisping. Maybe it's the nonstick electric skillet....don't really know.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
232 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2005
Finally the perfect fried potatoes. I have been trying to make fried "taters" and they always either come out too mushy, or not done enough. I was scanning through recipes and came across this one where you boiled the potatoes a little bit first before frying. I tried it and it worked perfectly. Have done it several times and they came out perfect every time!! I used regular potatoes and fried with a little onion..served with pinto beans and corn bread Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Crossville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Great recipe! I left out the green pepper as I didn't have any on hand. I added a little garlic and used smoked paprika instead of regular to give it a different flavor - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2007
Great flavor-I modified the recipe by cutting the potatos first and microwaving them for 8 minutes, instead of boiling them; it cut down on time (and the mess!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Goddess522

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2003
WOW! Did this recipe get some activity this past week (smile:))! All the publicity promted me to make these for lunch to go with our homemade corndogs. I followed another's advice and used regular baking potatoes, which I peeled, cubed and then cooked in the microwave for apprx 10 min (just to speed up the process so that they would better match the cooking time of the corndogs I was making). Also, I added half of a chopped, red bell pepper. This tastes just like those O'brian potatoes you can purchase in stores and although those are a little more convenient, the taste of these are much better. I sprinkled a little cheese to melt over my serving while my boyfriend and daughter used their extra ketchup from their corn dogs with theirs. A good side to any meal: B/L/D! Thanks Verona!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2001
I scaled this recipe to feed 35 people and it turned out great. Great recipe for a breakfast or brunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
I had a craving for some home fried potatoes and this recipe hit it on the nose for perfection. First I microwaved some regular potatoes-much easier. Then I peeled(I prefer no skins) and when cooled chopped into little cubes. Next I chopped up 1/2 green pepper, 1/2 red pepper, 1/2 onion into little cubes and sauteed in my electric skillet with some olive oil for 3minutes then added a couple of dabs of butter and sauteed for another 2 minutes. In went the potatoes with black pepper, salt, paprika, garlic powder and whatever spice you like and mix it all up and I added a few more dabs of butter(love butter). I let it cook for 10 minutes or more on each side on med/low setting. Easier for me to break it up in sections with spatula in the skillet to flip it over- so each side is nice and brown. A must try-YUMMY!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Your absolutely right Verona...these are yummy! We don't add the veggies (although they would taste great), but fry the potatoes in bacon grease. I hope no one's heart skipped a beat when they read that. But it is delicious!! Try this with biscuits and grave..a real southern meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
YUM! Just like O'Brian style potatoes that my mom used to make. I used green & red bell peppers. The smell of these awoke the kids this morning, they smelled so good! Thanks Verona!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2003
Yum! Perfect for a greasy hangover breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Bacon and Potato Breakfast Strata

See how to make a cheesy breakfast strata with bacon and potatoes.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States