Home-Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
These tasted great with some cumin, but I had to fry the potatoes a loooong time -maybe 30-35 minutes- before they even started to brown, and then an additional 10 minutes before they looked ready to eat. Anybody have any idea why? I only rate the recipe lower because I was expecting a shorter cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashtaroth42

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Felton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
Pretty good. My potatoes took much longer to cook than the recipe states, which threw off the timing of the rest of the meal, but the taste was fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Ive been craving breafast for dinner for a while and decided to go searching. While I did think it was good..I would have liked it alot better if my potatoes were at least a little crispy. I followed directions excalty..and if I do make again I will put them in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
We loved these. A tasty side dish to any meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
It came out so perfect!! I added a touch a latina flavor by adding a pouch of " Sazon Goya with culantro and achiote". It gave it a nice color so it doesnt look so pale anda nice extra taste. Dont over cook the potatoes because once you add all the ingredients to it, it will break apart. Once I added all the seasoning to it I lowered the heat all the way and left it in the pot for an extra 7 minutes so it can take up in all the flavor. Make sure you mix it every so often so every potato has a nice flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DR. RODRIGUEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I microwaved the potatoes and the recipe was wonderful--very easy to customize. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Simple recipe. Good dish. If you bake the potatoes instead of boiling it, they will be drier in texture. I fried the potatoes a few minutes longer than suggested for a crispier texture. Used a sweet yellow onion. I have made this three times- with green or red peppers alone and a combination of both. I liked the result of using both peppers. But don't overdo it with the vegetables... too much water from the peppers + onions will make your dish mushy. I added some garlic for a punch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Always The Hostess
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
These were pretty good...I baked instead of fried them. Shook up all the ingredients in a Ziploc with a bunch of olive oil to coat, then put them in the oven at 425 for about 30-40 minutes, turning once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by happywife05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This was soooooo good! The next time I have to cut my potatoes into smaller cubes, but, oh my, this is de-lish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
These potatoes are excellent. I followed the recipe exactly the first time I made them, cooked them a bit longer/at a higher heat to make them crispy on the outside. The second time I made them I added a sprinkle of cayenne pepper, chili powder, and red pepper flakes in addition to the paprika to give them a spicy kick. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Morristown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States