Home-Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
I love this recipe but there really is no need to boil the potatoes. Especially if you have a good nonstick skilled or electric skilled. I just drizzle some evoo in the pan make sure the oil is hot throw the potatoes in season and cover for like 10 minutes then remove lid. Cook until golden brown. We use paprika and some cayenne pepper. We like our potatoes a little spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jessida8810

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camden, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Clover, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Added red pepper to go along with green pepper. Also used Russett potatoes instead of red potatoes. For a little added flavor I also added some sausage to the home fries. It was really good, but next time I'll use spicy Italian sausage instead of regular sausage (for added kick). I fried an egg over the top of each serving...incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fritolay0517

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2011
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I found this recipe to be just so-so as written. A few extra spices and it could be wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
A great basic recipe. There's really no need to boil the potatoes, I just softened them up in the microwave. What I really like about this recipe is the fact that you get potatoes that are crispy on the outside and soft and creamy on the inside. Sure this doesn't have much going on in the way of spices, but those of us who want to play around with different spices and flavors can do so easily. I added garlic (can't have potatoes w/o that stuff) and some cheese melted over the top. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
I substituted about 1/4 tsp. Cayenne Pepper for the Paprika since we didn't have any, and added two eggs in. I think it would have been delicious even without my changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Channelview, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
AMAZING! Made this with the recipe "scrambled eggs done right" and bacon..awesome breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lyss8928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
This was good. We ate it for a late lunch after a big breakfast and it was perfect. I used a yellow pepper b/c that's what I had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
You can make this a dinner dish by adding sliced smoked or Polish sausage to the potatoes. I've been making this dish for many years and it's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2011
Quick and easy! A good basic that you can then mess around with. I will definitely make again and see if I can't spice it up a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Potato Pancakes I

See how to make simple, traditional potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States