Home-Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This was a good, basic recipe not requiring alot of ingredients. Make sure you add plenty of salt,pepper, garlic powder as they cook or they tend to be a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2006
I cooked the potatoes as stated in the recipe, and they tasted good, but the centres turned out hard as a rock. Maybe I'll boil them longer if I make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Wow! These potatoes were absolutely delicious. I first tried them as a side next to fried chicken, then as a brunch served with sour cream. I can see myself making these again and again. I did add some garlic powder, as per previous reviewers, and just fried the onions directly with the potatoes to save time - there's no need to do it separately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Jerusalem, Mehoz Yerushalayim, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2006
good home fry recipe although I used Idaho potatoes because they are a starcher potato and they brown better and a dash of chile flakes for the heat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fingers77

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Westwood, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
Used one large russet potatoe and added garlic. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Good homefries. Nothing spectacular, but I will likely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
These are the best home fries I've made. I used leftover baby red potatoes, quartered. Once the potatoes were cooked, I moved half the potatoes off to one side of the pan and added onions & green pepper to the other half, leaving the plain side for the kids. Everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STONESOUP

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 27, 2006
...I woke up extremely hungry this morning..came across this recipe and it totally hit the spot! I used about 10 very small red potatoes so this cooked up really fast...yea! Very good recipe..can use whatever potato, pepper and onion you have on hand. I HAD to use butter for frying and added a dash of garlic...thanks for helping tame the hunger pains!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LPHILLIPS9

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I added roasted red and green peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Photo by LESLEYfromWI
Reviewed: May 10, 2006
Good recipe. Next time I would slice the onions instead of chop (personal preference) and cook the potatoes just a little longer. (I had 4 large red potatoes and they could have used a little more cooking time.) The taste was very good. Made with Sausage Smothered in Red Cabbage from this site. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLEYfromWI

Displaying results 141-150 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Chef John's Classic Potato Pancakes

See a great technique for making perfect potato pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States