Home-Fried Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Probably the best home fried potatoes I've ever made. Boiling them first is definately the way to go, it cuts time, they don't get too brown before they're ready, and it takes nothing away from them. Red potatoes are also a nice touch. I did however add the peppers and onions to the potatoes half-way through cooking to save time, and I added a few cloves of garlic that I just smashed with a large knife without cutting them, so I could remove them later before serving. That was just my personal preference. This is the only way I will be making home fries again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Very yummy. Didn't have red potatoes on hand, so used baking potatoes. Still fantastic, with no leftovers!Always happy to have another recipe that works for the vegetarian and gluten free members of my family, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
Great recipe!!! This is really a hash brown but with a fabulous dinner twist - the onion and pepper really make this dish!!! I used red peppers as I did not have green and seasoned more to satisfy my personal taste. Will definitely make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2007
This was yummy! I served at an an informal dinner party and my finacee told me that I have to make these again. Tonight I am going to try them with hunks of carrot as I have a lot of carrots and no peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chicken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
Very good - baking the potatoes beforehand makes this much easier to pull together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
Yum! Hubby just went wild for these! I made extra to save but he ate them all at dinner! I did make a few changes: NO GREEN PEPPERS (to "bitter sweet" for the dish, in my opinion), added a few cloves of minced garlic, and dried parsley instead of fresh. Also added some cayenne powder to spice it up a bit more. I had to do most of the prep early in the day...here is what I did. I used my mandoline to make thick potato juliennes, then boiled them until almost tender, and blanched them. I put the onion, oil, spices and taters into ziplocs and tossed to coat, then tossed into the fridge. When it was time for dinner I just put the mix into the skillet and cooked 'em up! These will be great to use with the foodsaver! One more note: for my serving, I used fat free margarine instead of the oil. I thought it was great and a lot less fat/calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPolencheck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Red Wing, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
My husband thought these were the best breakfast potatoes he has ever had. I did use a little extra paprika, ground black pepper, and I added garlic powder. These potatoes were a huge hit for our Christmas brunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2006
This was good but I felt that the potatoes, itself, lacked in flavour. I added some crumbled bacon to the mix to liven it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XXXNAUGHTY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
These were pretty good. My husband loved them, but I did not care for the lack of flavor. I boiled the potatos a little longer than what it called for and glad I did. Will most likely try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CariMel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Left out the green pepper, used olive oil and regular potatoes and seasoning salt instead of regular salt. Husband loved the potatoes served with a London broil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA

Displaying results 131-140 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Oven-Roasted Potatoes

See how to make easy oven-roasted potatoes.

Roast Potatoes

Quick, flavorful roasted red potatoes.

Grilled Baked Potatoes

A delicious combination of baked and grilled potatoes in one dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States