Holly's Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jacolyn
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Although this dessert dip does not taste like cookie dough that much (mostly because the cream cheese taste is very prevalent), it is still delicious and addicting! I added 2 extra tablespoons of brown sugar and an extra teaspoon of vanilla. I also added Heath toffee chips (for more texture) as I have seen in similar recipes. Oh, and I let this sit over night. At first, I served the dip with chocolate graham crackers, which were good, but then my husband had the fantastic idea to dip small pretzels in it. The salty/sweet combo was perfect! Next time, I may even add some crushed pretzels to the dip rather than the Heath chips. The salt of the pretzels really complimented the sugar in the dip! I will definitely make this dip again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacolyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beacon, New York, USA
Living In: Fishkill, New York, USA
Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
This recipe is good as written, but it does require a slight stretch of the imagination to taste a “cookie dough” flavor. After several attempts at tweaking, I’ve decided that I like it best using the mini semi- sweet chocolate chips and doubling the amount of brown sugar and vanilla. It definitely improves with age and I would recommend making at least one day, if not two days in advance for optimal flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Fantastic! Made this to take to a chocolate themed Ladies Night. Served with Nilla Wafers, Ginger Snaps and Animal Crackers. Animal Crackers were the best! Definitely make this a day ahead. Tasted more like cheesecake than cookie dough so I added 2 tbsp extra brown sugar. After refrigerating overnight it absolutely tasted like cookie dough. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
This is a really yummy dip! I agree, it is more "cheesecake-y" than cookie dough, but yummy none the less. I adjusted the recipe as other had commented, doubling the brown sugar and the vanilla. I also altered it the second time I made it and substituted peanut butter for the butter....it was awesome (and seemed a little more virtuous than using the butter!) Love this dip and have shared it with my friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This dip was really easy to throw together and had a nice flavor. We followed another reviewer's suggestion and served it with (gluten free) pretzels. The saltiness and crunchiness of the pretzels was a good contrast to the richness and creaminess of the dip. It should be said (and has been said before by other reviewers) that the consistency is NOT like that of chocolate chip cookie DOUGH and the flavor is rich and slightly cheescake-y. If you want chocolate chip cookie DOUGH (and not dip) then make a batch of chocolate chip cookie dough and substitute a flaxseed / water mixture for the eggs which would make it safe to eat raw. If you want a lovely dessert DIP to serve with crackers (or pretzels) at a party, then serve this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by torianne31

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harlem, Georgia, USA
Living In: Willow Spring, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Amazing with Pita chips! I have used both fat free cream cheese and neufela cheese...both are great! I have used dark chocolate chips and no chocolate chips at all...still wonderful! A favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This is very good. Tastes more like cheese cake but that is fine by me! I spread this on top half a box of cooked brownies and it was amazing. Cheese cake in a bar form! Who wouldnt love that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
Really good with pretels as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
Yes, add the extra brown sugar and then sandwich it between 2 vanilla wafers. Chill it overnight and then you'll have mini cookie dough cheesecakes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
My favorite dessert, I recommend adding in toffee bits for an extra sweet yet salty taste to the dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Cupcake

See how to make the best cupcake ever!

Chocolate Chip Cheese Ball

It’s like a chocolate cheesecake without all the hard work!

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States