Holly's Chicken Cordon Bleu Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
my hubby said this was ok, but too salty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
My whole family did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I made this dish for a french themed birthday. I substituted the corn flakes with ritz crackers. We loved it so delicious. Definetly will remake again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I am going to make this for my family and I hope it is as good as it looks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
Excellent! I followed directions, but instead of layering, mixed it all together with the soup, etc, then poured into a casserole dish with some crumb mixture on the bottom and the crumb mixture on the top. The chicken was in cubes, like the ham. It turned out great! Definitely a do-over for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
I thought this recipe was delicious! My husband prefers the variation with the stove top stuffing on top, by my 6-yr old son and I loved it. I did half the recipe and it still filled up my 9 x 13 pyrex dish. I only used 1.5lbs of chicken since I am a little conservative on the meat in our house and used a high quality ham (really yummuy). I did cook my chicken breast most of the way through before adding to the dish as others suggested and the dish still took the entire time for the flavors to meld. I used 8oz of muenster cheese slices in the middle and 8oz of mozzerella in the top layer because that's what I had at home. I did omit the mushrooms, green onions and additional 2tb of butter on top as my family doesn't like these veges and I didn't want to open a new stick of butter. Overall... yummy dish and will make again. Maybe the veges will help blend some of the salty taste from the ham and cream of chicken soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Mediocore..... not bad but don't know i'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I thought this was delicious. I served it to company this evening. It was a LOT of food! There were 8 of us and 7 went back for seconds, and i still had leftovers! My tips (based on others' reviews): measure the 4 cups of cornflakes, THEN crush them. I reduced the cheese to about 4 cups (1 lb.) I added about 1/2 cup fresh chopped parsley along with onions & garlic. Also I diced the chicken (not sliced) and used diced ham, and sprinkled the chicken with salt & pepper as I was sauteeing it. I did not add any more salt & pepper after that, and it was plenty well seasoned. This was delicious and I WILL fix it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Mint Hill, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Update 4/29 - I am reducing this to 2 stars because this just continues to be a struggle for me with my family. No one really likes this but me and the leftovers are a huge pain. It seems like it needs carbs to counteract the heavy greasy cheesiness, but I haven't found a carb (rice, pasta, etc.) that seems to pair well with it for serving. Leftovers are hard to reheat and greasy. I will be removing this from my recipe box. Original Review - This was very yummy but salty from the ham. I halved the recipe but kept the sauce as written. I ended up using bone boiled deli ham cut thick instead of cubed and it worked fine. I just chopped it coarse. The recipe says to salt the first chicken layer, but I would skip that given the saltiness of the ham. I will also use regular onion cooked wit the chicken next time rather than green onion. It didn't look very pretty cooked and my DD has issues with "green things" in her food so I had to pick them out of her serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Peoria, Illinois, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Cordon Bleu I

This delicious recipe only seems difficult. See how it’s done!

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States