Holly Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
These cookies are really cute and festive, but there are some things you should know if you are going to make them. First of all - use a 10 oz package of marshmallows - NOT 16 oz (the first time I made them I had goopy marshmallow everywhere - 10 oz was perfect.) AND - DON"T use wax paper to put them on while they set up - very difficult to remove. Instead, use a regular cookie sheet sprayed with pam or greased with shortening. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
498 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
We have been making these "cookies" since I was a kid. It's really a matter of trial and error. If you can't make them the right way the first time - try adjusting the ingredients a bit. If they are too sloppy - try cutting down on the butter. (Or add more Marshmallows) use BUTTER - NOT MARGARINE if you want them to come out the right way. If they come out too hard, add more butter or don't cook as long. (They almost come out "candied" if you cook too long.) We don't "drop" these cookies - I use WELL buttered fingers to shape them quickly into Wreaths. you decorate with the Red hots to decorate the Wreath. I put them in all my gift baskets for the Holidays and I actually get requests now for them. Another note to remember - Do NOT put the red hots on with buttery fingers. They will fall off the Wreaths. But you have to get them on before the cookie cools, or they will fall off as well. Having a 2nd pair of hands is Great for this. Also, be careful - this stuff is VERY HOT when working with it. Don't Burn yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
264 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
These cookies always make a holiday cookie plate look festive. I make mine into wreaths by putting a tablespoon of the mixture on waxed paper sprayed with Pam. Then I wet my hands to form the wreaths. I find that works better than putting butter on my hands.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These cookies, were delicious and easy to make. I followed some of the comments and changed a few things and they turned out delicious and beautiful. First off I only used about 45 marshmellows. I heated the butter, marshmellows and Vanilla at low heat, I removed pot from heat and then added the food coloring and cornflakes. I used a metal spoon and prayed Pam on it for ease of stirring and shaping. I sprayed a cookie sheet with Pam and dropped spoonfuls of the mixture and then quickly added the cinnamon candies. I let them cool off and then put the baking sheet in the refrigerator for about an hour or two. Note: Though to store, store individually in plastic wrap so that they won't stick together. They were so beautiful I am making more for my friends as treats. Good luck!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2005
Using the Reynolds non stick foil works well. Nothing seems to stick to that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I've made this for years, but not as "cookies." I make large wreaths, and cut them (just as you would with traditional rice krispie treats). I usually decorate with a bow as an extra touch. Don't cut the wreath until it's completely cool. The shape stays (until the first piece gets taken, of course.) It's a big hit at office parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
I've been making these for over 20 years (minus the vanilla), and I think I've made them every Christmas. I love them, my daughter loves them and so do my co-workers. :-) I put them on wax paper that is sprayed with cooking spray, that always seems to work best to avoid a mess. I use a whole bag of miniature marshmallows and just add corn flakes until the mixture is coated and there is a good ratio of flakes to the goo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Woodbridge, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
My family loves these cookies, and the recipe has been in the family for a long time. I only use 1/2 tsp. of green food color, though. And this year, I discovered forming the wreathes on parchmant paper! What a huge help! Much better than wax paper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: King William, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2005
These were really easy to make. My 2 girls helped me by decorating with red cinnamon candies. Only change I will make next time is to use red M&M's, my oldest daughter says that the cinnamon candies are too hot. The cookies tasted really good. We will look forward to making these each Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Cumming, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
Very easy and feastive cookie...BUT wasxed paper is not the way to go. We tried aluminum foil sprayed with cooking spray. It mande ALL the difference!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States