Holly Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
My "thirtysomething" kids are thrilled that I was able to find the recipe for the cookies their Granny used to make them! Thanks for all the good prep. tips, fellow bakers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
These are great, but super simple way to make them is to spray a round jello mold or form into a large wreath, decorate with red candies (large M&M's) and cut before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Takes patience and Pam the wax paper. I used miniature red M & M's Kid like those better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Farmington, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
These are really good!! My sister made them for school and they were so good. It was unbelievable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2008
these cookies are great. but instead of vanilla i use mint extract
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
My family calls these "Green Things" :) My Grandma passed this recipe onto us from a party that she visited in the 50's, and its been a must have Christmas cookie for us always! One thing that I've learned is to spray EVERYTHING with Pam. The pan, the bowl, the spoon, your hands, and have foil laid out and sprayed as well before you start to make the marshmallow mixture. You have to work fast with these
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Gallagher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2007
We made these with 10 oz. of marshmellows instead of 16 as previosly stated. We also coated cookie sheets in pam for the cookies to set up. Turned out great!!! I'm making them again tomorrow and passing out for little gifts!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JEANIE_STENSON
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
Yumm, just like rice krispy treats. They are pretty also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANIE_STENSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stow, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I used a candy cane cookie cutter, greased. Placed on wax paper. Put in freezer to set...but don't do that for too long or the wax paper will stick to the cookies. :) They turned out so cute. Only made about 15? though. That was disappointing. I prefer the texture of this cookie to rice crispies myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashippun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Mine messed up--I misread the recipe and added way too much butter--but I'm still giving this 5 stars because had I not made that mistake these would be perfect. They still taste great--just a little bit more rich than other cornflake wreathes I've had. I didn't make wreathes, just dropped then by spoonfuls onto Pam-sprayed wax paper, so mine look like clumps of holly with big berries (hubby hates cinnamon so I used red M&Ms and I couldn't find mini M&Ms. I also used Frosted Flakes instead of regular corn flakes and that gave the cookies/candy a nice taste. Maybe next Christmas they will turn out prettier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States