Holly Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
no one really liked the taste, not even the kids. i had never heard of this recipe before and thought it would be a nice addition to my cookie collection but, as another rater said, they were too gooey to pack and the only way to serve them would be to place them on plates in one layer so they don't stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
These taste and look really wonderful. It's basically a rice crispy treat only using cornflakes and shaped into a wreath. I would give this 5 stars except even when cooled my "cookies" stayed super sticky and didn't hold their shape well. Don't expect these to dry and act like cookies. I had planned to take them to a cookie exchange but there's no way I could have packaged these and put them together without having them be major green messes by the time they got into work. Instead I separated them on a tray, put in my fridge, and will serve them to people locally all laying flat on a plate. Just know what to expect when you make these is all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIZZY9VOLT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
I wouldn't make these again using corn flakes. Even with the 10 oz. of marshmallows that another user suggested, these came out gooey and tasteless IMO. I would maybe try Fruity Pebbles instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harristown, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Easy recipe but difficult to mold. After printing the recipe (without picture) I realized they needed to be in the shape of a wreath (duh). Since it was so difficult to mold, I ended up just dropping them on the wax paper without shaping. It looked liked holly (not a wreath) as the name states. Can't find red hot candies in my small town in Canada so I used a dab of red decorating icing. They still looked good to me but come on, are a bunch of pre-school kids going to know the difference?!?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
While these do taste pretty good, I didn't see anyway to make a wreath. We ended up just making a circle (or as close as possible) and added red m&ms. I will make some more, but won't bother trying to do a wreath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
Made this for a cookie party, and they were the first cookies gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bcontro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
I tried the with the intent to hand them out for Christmas goodie plates... however, after one batch I decided they were a pain in you-know-where and didn't want to hassle with them again. They were hard to shape into rounds and even with spraying my hands with Pam or using butter, they still stuck to me. They don't even really taste that good, either. My husband ate them all, but no more for me... I'll stick to the Christmas staples in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rainier, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
This was far to sweet for my taste, looks great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
This is the exact same recipe my Meemaw passed down to my mom and then to me. This is one of the Christmas staples in our household. I cannot wait to share this recipe with my children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacinta C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Searcy, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Mannheim, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
i tike it cool
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States