Holly Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
Super yummy. I remember these from my childhood. I used a 10 oz bag and just kept adding food coloring and then corn flakes until I liked the consistency. I made little holly bushes instead of wreaths because they were easier. I also used m&ms (red) for the berries because we don't care for cinnamon candy. They look beautiful and unfortunately I can't seem to stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
easy for very sticky and gooey. won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOANNBAKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flushing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2009
This was a perfect recipe. Very easy to make and my family loved them. Thanks for helping me to renew an old family traditional favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
They are easy to make, but they are sticky and gooey. Maybe that is great for some, but I find them rather unappetizing. Couldn't find the old fashioned kind of liquid food coloring and could not get the wreaths a dark enough green. I used an entire tube of the new gel food coloring and they ended up a dark pastel green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rozzi80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Worked out perfect. I used parchment paper instead of wax paper, and cut back on my butter a bit. I also used a 10 ounce package of marshmallows. They came out awesome. I tried making these last year and they were a disaster (different recipe) but wanted to give it one more try, and these came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
This was really easy. Tastes really good, but uses alot of marshmalows. Really yummy, but NOT good for people who watch their weight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugar-n-spice

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washougal, Washington, USA
Living In: Scio, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
My sister-in-law and I make these cookies every year. We save this cookie for last, because your gonna have to sit down and get messy. Using butter on your hands helps form the wreaths, and letting the mixture cool after adding the corn flakes hleps as well. A lot of fun and will be a tradion in our family for a long time to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I'm not sure what we did wrong with this recipe, but I will not be using it again. I added about 3 extra cups of cornflakes and still couldn't shape them into wreaths. We ended up with blobs of green cornflakes. At least they taste ok, but I can't use them in my cookie exchanges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
I love these "cookies." I've been making them with my mom since I was little. One tip for molding them, if you don't want to get your hands all buttery and green: put plastic baggies on your hands like gloves and rub butter on the baggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
My family has been making these since I was a little girl, and they are always everyone's favorite. We don't shape them into wreaths, we just make them into drop cookies because the marshmallow is too hot. And we put 3 red hots on every cookie so it looks like holly berries. Also, you can make them for other holidays if you change the color of food coloring, and use M&M's. We like to make them for easter too :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States