Holly Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
These cookies, were delicious and easy to make. I followed some of the comments and changed a few things and they turned out delicious and beautiful. First off I only used about 45 marshmellows. I heated the butter, marshmellows and Vanilla at low heat, I removed pot from heat and then added the food coloring and cornflakes. I used a metal spoon and prayed Pam on it for ease of stirring and shaping. I sprayed a cookie sheet with Pam and dropped spoonfuls of the mixture and then quickly added the cinnamon candies. I let them cool off and then put the baking sheet in the refrigerator for about an hour or two. Note: Though to store, store individually in plastic wrap so that they won't stick together. They were so beautiful I am making more for my friends as treats. Good luck!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Corona, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I found these goopy and hard to shape. They didn't set up well, either. I've made rice crispy type cookies tons of times and they always turned out - not really sure what the problem was with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
My family loves these cookies, and the recipe has been in the family for a long time. I only use 1/2 tsp. of green food color, though. And this year, I discovered forming the wreathes on parchmant paper! What a huge help! Much better than wax paper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: King William, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
While I've not yet used this recipe, I have made similar cookies in the past with one big difference... I made them into holly leaves with berries instead of wreaths. Just take the mixture and drop by teaspoon onto wax paper and add the red hots or M & M's and you have yummy, great looking cookies with a lot less work. These will be gracing our cookie tray this Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
terribly hard to make, don't dare double the recipe! it is very tasty but mine ended up a ball of goop. not presentable at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I've made this for years, but not as "cookies." I make large wreaths, and cut them (just as you would with traditional rice krispie treats). I usually decorate with a bow as an extra touch. Don't cut the wreath until it's completely cool. The shape stays (until the first piece gets taken, of course.) It's a big hit at office parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Fisher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
My wreaths didn't "set" quickly and are still gooey after 12 hours. I used 10 oz. marshmallows and 4-1/2 cups frosted flakes. I had trouble shaping them and I'm afraid they'll just fall apart when someone picks one up (assuming I can get them onto a plate!). Probably will not make this recipe again. I do agree that they are spectacular looking, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I love these for our cookie trays. It helps to sparingly butter your hands when forming them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I think these taste good but I simply cannot get them into shapes. They'e so incredibly sticky It ends up turning into a big mess. I got so frustrated I threw them out and started over with a completely different recipe. What a shame because I think they're adorable I just can't work with the consistency of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Love the color it brings to my Christmas Cookie platter. This is a favorite among my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERARN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Interlachen, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 123) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States