Holly Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2006
I found these goopy and hard to shape. They didn't set up well, either. I've made rice crispy type cookies tons of times and they always turned out - not really sure what the problem was with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by darmstro67

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Elora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
My family loves these cookies, and the recipe has been in the family for a long time. I only use 1/2 tsp. of green food color, though. And this year, I discovered forming the wreathes on parchmant paper! What a huge help! Much better than wax paper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: King William, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
While I've not yet used this recipe, I have made similar cookies in the past with one big difference... I made them into holly leaves with berries instead of wreaths. Just take the mixture and drop by teaspoon onto wax paper and add the red hots or M & M's and you have yummy, great looking cookies with a lot less work. These will be gracing our cookie tray this Christmas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
terribly hard to make, don't dare double the recipe! it is very tasty but mine ended up a ball of goop. not presentable at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I've made this for years, but not as "cookies." I make large wreaths, and cut them (just as you would with traditional rice krispie treats). I usually decorate with a bow as an extra touch. Don't cut the wreath until it's completely cool. The shape stays (until the first piece gets taken, of course.) It's a big hit at office parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
My wreaths didn't "set" quickly and are still gooey after 12 hours. I used 10 oz. marshmallows and 4-1/2 cups frosted flakes. I had trouble shaping them and I'm afraid they'll just fall apart when someone picks one up (assuming I can get them onto a plate!). Probably will not make this recipe again. I do agree that they are spectacular looking, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I love these for our cookie trays. It helps to sparingly butter your hands when forming them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
I think these taste good but I simply cannot get them into shapes. They'e so incredibly sticky It ends up turning into a big mess. I got so frustrated I threw them out and started over with a completely different recipe. What a shame because I think they're adorable I just can't work with the consistency of these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
Love the color it brings to my Christmas Cookie platter. This is a favorite among my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHERARN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmhurst, Illinois, USA
Living In: Interlachen, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
I've been making these for years and they always disappear in a flash! Having a helper to press the red hots on while you work on the next wreath is very very very recommended. You gotta work fast with this! Lost my original recipe, happy to find this one. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 91-100 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States