Holly Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2000
Super recipe - especially for kids! They love to help decorate with the red hots - and when they eat lots of cookies their mouths turn green! Also, they look very festive on a holiday dessert platter - lots of color!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
This recipe is great...My family loves 'em. And you can make them any color you want...My children didn't like the idea of the hot cinnamon candy so we sprinkled them M&M's chocalate baking bits. They were even better than I thought they'd be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2001
These were very good. I've made similar cookies and the problem is the same with all - they are sticky and won't come off the waxed paper (taste good though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2002
Looks like holly! fun recipe the kids enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2002
We make these every year! They are wonderful and add great color to the table! YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
Maybe I messed up, but, I think these were extremely bland and when they cool, they were SOOO chewey. We ended up trashing them. I'm not the best baker, so, like I said, I may have messed up. But, I'm not that bad and these cookies were bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewing, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Stockton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
These cookies are really cute and festive, but there are some things you should know if you are going to make them. First of all - use a 10 oz package of marshmallows - NOT 16 oz (the first time I made them I had goopy marshmallow everywhere - 10 oz was perfect.) AND - DON"T use wax paper to put them on while they set up - very difficult to remove. Instead, use a regular cookie sheet sprayed with pam or greased with shortening. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
498 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by C IS FOR COOKIE
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2003
I LOVE these cookies - to eat. They are a pain to make, but every year they make it to my cookie tray! Here are my hints: I make holly leaf clumps (still beautiful!). GET A HELPER to apply the red hots as you turn out the cookies. I use a 10.5 oz bag of mini marshmallows. I let the melted mixture bubble for a few seconds to ensure the cookies set up properly. I use a greased rubber spatula to scrape them from the pan onto parchment paper. I keep the pan over very low heat as I scoop out the cookies. I grease my fingers. (If you don't have a helper, don't grease the hand that applies the red hots, or the don't stick). ARE THESE WORTH IT? ABSOLUTELY! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by C IS FOR COOKIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2005
Very good....a wonderful treat for the family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Bud, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
These are great cookies, and were a big hit at Christmas. So easy to make, too, my son loved helping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States