Holly Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
I used a candy cane cookie cutter, greased. Placed on wax paper. Put in freezer to set...but don't do that for too long or the wax paper will stick to the cookies. :) They turned out so cute. Only made about 15? though. That was disappointing. I prefer the texture of this cookie to rice crispies myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ashippun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Mine messed up--I misread the recipe and added way too much butter--but I'm still giving this 5 stars because had I not made that mistake these would be perfect. They still taste great--just a little bit more rich than other cornflake wreathes I've had. I didn't make wreathes, just dropped then by spoonfuls onto Pam-sprayed wax paper, so mine look like clumps of holly with big berries (hubby hates cinnamon so I used red M&Ms and I couldn't find mini M&Ms. I also used Frosted Flakes instead of regular corn flakes and that gave the cookies/candy a nice taste. Maybe next Christmas they will turn out prettier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2007
This is an old family tradition at my house for christmas. They look great on a tray of holiday cookies. Every batch turns out different as far as too gooey, perfect, dry.....follow others suggestions listed in reviews. I make them every year and have it down to an art.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
I always had these cookies at Christmas growing up. They never last long. They are delicious and very easy to make. Just make sure you put ALOT of butter on your hands when shaping them because they are very sticky! I put them on non-stick foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by usmcwifekg

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
Oh My Gosh, what a mess. I would say dont make this recipe unless your like eating off of wax paper. They taste good but I could even get them off the wax paper once I was done. I only used this recipe because of all of the great reviews on it, but trust me they are wrong. My grandma make these and they dont stick to the wax paper which is really nice. I'll be post the recipe so keep checking for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
I couldn't find my holly cookie recipe and needed to check online for the marshmallow/butter ratio. We always use mint extract though instead of vanilla. I've tried many times to make them into actual wreaths but always end up making holly "clumps"! I use red hot sometimes and red mini M&Ms sometimes. Put them on tinfoil that has been sprayed or buttered. Pop them into the freezer for a while before removing. I store them in the freezer to. That way there are some left! My daughter loves to be involved and put the candies on. It makes it easier having extra hands. Thanks for submitting the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
The kids and I had a great time preparing this classic and we all enjoyed. Get ready to move quickly before the heated flakes begin to set-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
Growing up, we used this recipe to make holly leaves w/berries instead of wreaths. They made great garnish for decorating other Christmas goodies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
I remember making these in grade school! I'm glad I found the recipe again, these are delicious and super cute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Torrington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Winsted, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
This is a great resipe. I loed it when I tried it.I say that the creater of this resipe is a great cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Inverness, Florida, USA
Living In: Homosassa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States