Holly Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I will never make these again. Messy, sticky, and dyed everything green, including our hands. Never did completely set up, either... so round wreaths lost their shapes easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
These are just like the cookies I have eaten through the years. Definitely take the advice of others and use the 10oz bag of marshmallows. Patience is what is needed for these cookies and low heat. I didn't have any problems making them when i followed the directions and didn't get excited when they were cooling. I didnt do wreaths i just did drops and they look just as good. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2010
These cookies have been part of our family holiday tradition for almost 40 years. The only difference is that I use Special K cereal rather than cornflakes. The flavor is delicious and the flakes are stronger, plus healthy. I drop heaping teaspoon fulls onto wax paper or foil sprayed with cooking spray, then drop red hots all over the top of cookies. I don't go to the trouble of shaping each cooking into a wreath, if I want that shape, I just arrange the cookies into a large round form on the plate. I have found it is much more decorative to place the cookies mixed with a variety of other cookies and homemade candies(divinity looks beautiful with these) onto plate...very FESTIVE! I have also used a fraction of almond extract to give a delicious flavor if you like almond.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandebbie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pasadena, Texas, USA
Living In: Orem, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
These were sooo annoying to make! The only thing my 4 yr old ended up being able to do was put the red m&m's on! They were soooooo sticky and hard to form! They look very cute, but they didn't taste that good! Would NOT make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jaymie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
These tasted just okay and were too soft. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chefsazy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Couldn't get cookies the right texture and they weren't that good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
These tasted VERY good, but kind of a pain to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
UPDATE: I always use a wooden spoon to stir.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
this taste delicious. not too sweet, but why isn't it crunchy? did i add the cereal in too quickly? am i supposed to wait until the marshmallow mixture cools a bit? (my niece made this and it stayed crisp for hours)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ernesta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
I made several doz of cookies this Christmas and this was gooey and sticky. I probably just did something wrong but I refuse to try again! Hope you have better luck than I did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ckay6751

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States