Holly Christmas Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Won't be making these again. Way too difficult, messy to cook, store, and eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
This is very simple to make. My only recommendation is to spray the spoons with Pam. They tend to really stick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amysagoodcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fryeburg, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
This was a beautiful addition to a Christmas Cookie Exchange table. I made one large wreath and sliced it into pieces. The TEN ounce pkg of marshmallows worked perfectly. This is a super easy / high impact cookie recipe, and kids go crazy for them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
My Gram used to make these every year. Now I'm in charge of them. Use 3 cups mini marshmallows. i like to melt the butter first then add them but dont cook too long or it will be like eating glass. I line a cookie sheet with wax paper then sprinkle sugar on it before i drop the clusters. its like a little touch of snow on your holly and they dont stick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
Important: DO NOT use wax paper. Use parchment paper. Wax paper is not quite capable of handling the sticky, delicious cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Fantastic! Made this yesterday as we had our children and grand children here to celebrate Christmas. As suggested by others, used only 10oz (300g) of marshmallows. The red hot cinnamon candies are not available in South Africa, so I found imported round little red cherry candies and used those. Looked just like holly with flowers, and I loved the sour taste of the cherries with the extreme sweetness of the 'holly'. Next time I would also not even bother with paper that could become sticky - I had too many for the surface I had prepared, and then sprayed a normal plate with Spray & Cook for the rest, and they never got stuck. I would just spray a tray from the beginning. Such a pity that they do not lose their stickiness, as I think it would make such a lovely edible gift for someone. I do believe that you need an extra pair of hands if you wanted to make little wreaths, as I found that the mixture cools quite quickly. I just made small heaps. Will definitely be making this again! (And I would love to try it with mint i.s.o. vanilla, and then find red M&M-like chocolates for the top - may also not be available here).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
Too much butter I think. They didn't want to stick together very well. I should have read all the reviews BEFORE I made these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
I should have read the other reviews first. It was sticky. They were a light eastery looking green. There was no hole in the wreath because the marshmallow flowed and filled it in. It did not look pretty. I will never make anything marshmallow on the stove again. I have been making my rice crispy treats in the microwave for years and it comes out perfect everytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2012
I have been making these for years! My kids really don't care for the Cinnamon candies so I have created "Mistletoe". Using white non-pariels or decorating pearls, you now have Mistletoe as well as Holly's! I just never used Vanilla Extract in my recipe, used the Rice Crispy treat version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
So good! The red hots don't even taste hot when you eat them as part of the cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States