Holland Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
I actually love these cookies so much I don't bake them for people anymore because they dont actually make it past my front door. These are the best butter cookies I've ever had. I also believe that using salted butter is important for the flavor, I usually use unsalted to bake with but the first time with these I used salted because it was all I had and then when I used the unsalted they tasted like flour instead of the deliciousness I had the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2008
too buttery. the taste of butter was overwhelming!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
My husband loved these cookies. He is Mexican and he said they reminded him of the cookies sold in Mexico called "Pastisetas".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2007
I really liked this recipe. And it really did melt right in my mouth, but I still felt like it was missing something, so I rolled the cookies in powdered sugar before dropping them on the baking sheet. It made them a bit more crispy, bit it really added something to them. They resembled gooey butter cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: De Soto, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
My first batch of these cookies did not turn out too well. They were one large, thin sloppy unit. I do not blame the recipe, I understand that when trying a new recipe many varibles can effect the outcome. I think I added too much baking soda. I did not have a 1/8tsp measuring device, so I guessed--obviously wrong. The cookies rose and spred out, did not brown and tasted like gooey butter. I decided to modify the rest of the batch. I added 1/2 cup more flour and mixed it in until the dough was smooth, slightly stiff, but creamy. I rolled less than a teaspoon full of the dough between my palms to form small balls, placed the balls about two inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet, pressed a wet fork into the cookies twice--once horizantally and once vertically, and baked the cookies for 11 minutes. They came out beautiful and tasted great. Each cookie was uniform in shape and golden brown on the edges. My second batch- I increased the flour and slightly decreased the sugar, used a very small pinch of baking soda, and baked again as described above. They will be a part of my families holiday feast. My ten year old son loves them, and he's quite the cookie critic. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northglenn, Colorado, USA
Living In: Mccook, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
I just finished baking these and they are awesome!! Rich buttery taste. They have the appearance of lace. Very thin but they do melt in your mouth. I rolled them in a ball and lightly flattened the first couple of batches but then I left them just in the ball stage and they still cooked and looked like the rest. THIS IS A KEEPER!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2006
This is an AWESOME recipe!! I couldn't find it after we moved last Christmas and I searched and searched this site until I found it again!! DEFINATELY worth the time to find again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
This cookie has a great taste but the appearance takes some work. Considering the quantity of butter in the recipe, there's no need to grease the cookie sheets. The cookies flatten considerably so I tried to ball them up to conteract the flatness and clean the cookie sheet after each use, but to no avail. If your guests care more about taste than appearance, this is a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2006
This recipe received glowing reviews, but it just didn't do it for me. The cookies were very flat and lacked sufficient flavor, though they did melt in the mouth, as promised. Also, they weren't very nice to look at. I always bake and freeze cookies so that I have something to offer guests, but these weren't attractive enough for company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Villa, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
I love the buttery taste but find it a bit sweet. I added more flour to it after my 1st batch of cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States