Holland Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I read all the comments first, and added 1/2cup more flower, actually, just added flour until the dough was smooth, and on the thicker side since reports were the cookies spread too much. I'm not impressed. I think I will try adding vanilla, or go to a recipe with more ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
I refuse to give someone a bad rating because I am no cook. I've had to take over as the family cook quite recently, and am just learning. I'm sure I did something wrong. Went back and checked the recipe again and again. What I had was a complete mess. There was so much butter that the cookies all melted into one huge cookie spread completely over the entire cookie sheet. Not to worry. After they had cooled I was able to cut them with a spatula, and lift them right up. They had so much butter in them that they made me sick to my stomach. I'm just not used to so much fat. Then, when I dropped one on my shirt, it stained it. Isn't 2 cups of butter, that whole pound package? A stick of butter is half a cup right? I don't know what I did wrong, but mine turned out awful. I don't think I'll even try this again, unless someone can let me know what I did wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This melt-in-your-mouth cookies are great any time of the year, any time of the day. Their especially yummy with a cup of coffee or tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Beaver, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
When I tasted the raw dough I found it bland so I added a pinch of salt and about a tablespoon of vanilla. Also I found it very loose after mixing all the ingredients together so I popped it in the freezer for about 40 minutes before making quenelles and baking them off. However this is a great base recipe. Next I'm trying orange zest and maybe some liquor in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
Quick, easy and the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I sized down the recipe to 18 servings. Since other reviews warned of runny cookies, I added an extra 1/2 cup flour. Consequently, the dough became super crumbly, so I threw in about a teaspoon of milk and it came out great. I'm not a fan of butter-tasting things, so I added about 1/8 teaspoon vanilla and everyone loved them! They took a while to bake though (about 12-15 mins). Good recipe with easy ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
These cookies really had no taste. Way too greasy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
These cookies were sooo good and easy! I followed the recipe exactly. They remind me of those Danish cookies you get in a tin during Christmas, except softer and better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
Cookies have an awesome taste. I too, however had to add a half cup more flour for the cookies to bake properly. Best butter cookie recipe I've found!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 41) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Butter Rich Spritz Butter Cookies

See how to make rich buttery spritz cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States