Holiday Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Looks like a terrific recipe. My problem is that there are never stale brownies around in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I put wayyyy toooo much alcohol.... I had to use cognac instead of rum because that's what I had. It really knocked me on my .... . I guess this dessert was more difficult than I expected it to be because things just didn't seem to go right. Used powdered sugar instead of cocoa powder - it balanced out the alcohol. I will probably not make this again for a while though it was quite good. Ridiculously indulgent though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I got addicted to these the first time I made them! I used 8oz. of Chef John's chocolate chili cookies - took from freezer & let them dry out for a couple hours after crumbling up. They tasted fantastic! The raisins & chocolate chips really added to the flavor, and I'm craving them ever since. I'm making more now (same way) but will use brownies next time - which I will bake & dry out especially for these. (I bet any cookie or cake would work). I hope I'm not making the Chef mad - I swear I'll actually follow the recipe soon!! LOVE Chef John, his videos & recipes!! Thank you SO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Made the recipe as is and had problems getting the balls to harden up enough to roll. Kept them in freezer for over 2 hours with no luck. Altered recipe to 10 oz of prepared 3 day old bownies and just a smidge less than 1/4 cup rum. Worked like a charm. Also added some orange extract to the chocolate coating to add some flare. They were gone before I coud get them on the serving plate. Very easy to make with the adjustments. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very time consuming but they were alright, need to make sure you have a good consistency with the brownies I accidently over poured so that batch wasn't that great but another with Kalhua was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
OMG! They were soooo goood! I did just as the recipe said and tada! This has instantly become our new Holiday treat for "grown ups". Hic !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancineL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I loved these rum balls much more than the traditional ones. I used spiced rum as that's what I had, I did use quite a bit, closer to 1/3c rather than a 1/4c. I agree that 4 ounces wasn't quite enough to coat them, although that could be me as I made a right mess of the coating. The key with it is to make them about 3-4 days ahead of time so the rum has a chance to mellow out a little in taste. The amount of rum in it seems more of an approximation, how much you use depends on how stale your brownies are, that may be why another reviewer had quite liquid ones, it should be a soft paste but not liquid at all. Mine weren't very stale so I crumbled them up and left them uncovered in the fridge overnight which did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
These were great, easy to make and tasted delicious. Again, don't overdo it with the rum as it takes some time to soak in. I made one batch with Coruba and one with Baileys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Last year, I bought a grocery store bakery brownie and just let it sit out over night, worked out fine. What I did differently, was to add a tablespoon of Creme de Cacao (chocolate liquor) along with the rum, & I rolled them lightly in chocolate sprinkles just after the melted chocolate had set. Took them to a Christmas party and they were quite the hit! This year I'm making batches to add to other goodies for gifts. If you make these right, 5 stars is what you should be rating this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I came upon this recipe while looking for a nut free rum ball. I used stale store bought brownies and added the spiced rum a little bit at a time to the mix so I didn't have a problem with the consistency. I found the video helpful with the rolling of the balls in the melted chocolate…they turned out very nicely and got even better with age. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States