Holiday Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
These are really simple and tasty, although the steps take some time. I tried one batch with kahlua and another with rum - personally I like the kahlua better. 4 oz of chocolate to coat was plenty for me, but I'm probably making mine too big - I only get about 15 balls out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Everyone was super impressed! Tastes like a rum truffle. I used the best dark chocolate i could find! I put in a a third more rum then recommended. I follow the recipe next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I tried the recipe as is and it wasn't bad, though boozy. Switched out the rum for 1/3 cup Bailey's and it was INCREDIBLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Last year, I bought a grocery store bakery brownie and just let it sit out over night, worked out fine. What I did differently, was to add a tablespoon of Creme de Cacao (chocolate liquor) along with the rum, & I rolled them lightly in chocolate sprinkles just after the melted chocolate had set. Took them to a Christmas party and they were quite the hit! This year I'm making batches to add to other goodies for gifts. If you make these right, 5 stars is what you should be rating this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Looks great, BUT who ever has stale brownies? There is fresh out of the oven and 'allgone' never stale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
These were great, easy to make and tasted delicious. Again, don't overdo it with the rum as it takes some time to soak in. I made one batch with Coruba and one with Baileys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
Not worth the mess and effort
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
These are now an every holiday staple! Did add a few pecans(will try walnuts next) and cinnamon. Never do brownies without cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMHUGHES
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Made the recipe as is and had problems getting the balls to harden up enough to roll. Kept them in freezer for over 2 hours with no luck. Altered recipe to 10 oz of prepared 3 day old bownies and just a smidge less than 1/4 cup rum. Worked like a charm. Also added some orange extract to the chocolate coating to add some flare. They were gone before I coud get them on the serving plate. Very easy to make with the adjustments. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Very time consuming but they were alright, need to make sure you have a good consistency with the brownies I accidently over poured so that batch wasn't that great but another with Kalhua was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States