Holiday Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I came upon this recipe while looking for a nut free rum ball. I used stale store bought brownies and added the spiced rum a little bit at a time to the mix so I didn't have a problem with the consistency. I found the video helpful with the rolling of the balls in the melted chocolate…they turned out very nicely and got even better with age. I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie
Home Town: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Courtice, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
These are tasty - the chocolate coating was fantastic and the directions (esp. video) were great. They did kind of taste like eating rum-soaked chocolate cookie dough - very moist. I might like them a little drier/firmer. Yummy though! I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pompton Lakes, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Roswell, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
mmmm-azing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
Excellent! I was looking for real chocolate rumballs like momma used to make, no vanilla wafers. And this is much better than momma's, but don't tell her. I used my homemade brownies, which feature 2 cups dark chocolate chips & 2 cups chopped pecans. I made them a week ahead, left em in the frig in a plastic bag, then, day of rumballing left them in a bowl to dry out. There was 14 oz of brownie-matter, mixed with 1/4 cup & an extra splash of Cap'n Morgans Spiced rum, and I let it sit for a while...by gosh, I couldn't believe the fine paste it formed. I am glad I wasn't impatient and added more before letting it sit and get pasty! It would have been too wet. I cut it with a knife and fork, stuck it in the frig for 1/2 hour and then used a melon-baller to place each "ball" on the nonstick cookie sheet. Now, it wasn't very ball shaped at THAT point, but after 20 minutes in the freezer I was able to form them easily into a ball! Since my brownies were already over-the-top with chocolate bits in them, I decided to forego the coating; also I was feeling lazy! Sorry Chef John! But MAN they were delish anyway! After they were all rumballed up, I just rolled 1/2 in cocoa and 1/2 in powdered sugar, and put them back in the freezer. The next day, I transported all 40 of them to my husband's bandgig for a holiday treat AT A BAR and ka-whooosh, they were gone just like that. From the stage, our fiddleplayer said: ARE YOU READY TO RUMBALL? I was nearly worshipped! Thanks CJ!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ellie may

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
These were a huge hit last year and I am planning on making them again this Christmas. I used Malibu coconut rum and topped with shredded toasted coconut. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RawWarrior

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
These are really simple and tasty, although the steps take some time. I tried one batch with kahlua and another with rum - personally I like the kahlua better. 4 oz of chocolate to coat was plenty for me, but I'm probably making mine too big - I only get about 15 balls out of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Everyone was super impressed! Tastes like a rum truffle. I used the best dark chocolate i could find! I put in a a third more rum then recommended. I follow the recipe next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I tried the recipe as is and it wasn't bad, though boozy. Switched out the rum for 1/3 cup Bailey's and it was INCREDIBLE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Last year, I bought a grocery store bakery brownie and just let it sit out over night, worked out fine. What I did differently, was to add a tablespoon of Creme de Cacao (chocolate liquor) along with the rum, & I rolled them lightly in chocolate sprinkles just after the melted chocolate had set. Took them to a Christmas party and they were quite the hit! This year I'm making batches to add to other goodies for gifts. If you make these right, 5 stars is what you should be rating this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Looks great, BUT who ever has stale brownies? There is fresh out of the oven and 'allgone' never stale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Kentucky Bourbon Balls

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's tasty Kentucky Bourbon Balls.

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States