Holiday Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Sinfully rich! So good! I used a 9 x 9 inch pan of stale Gluten Free brownies (Betty Crocker)... A 1/4 of which had already been eaten (Oops). I crumbled the brownies in a food processor and added a little more than 1/4C Rum... they were strong, but for the better! Four ounces of dark chocolate was not enough to coat these. I had some semi sweet chocolate chips on hand that I used to coat the remaining. Husband loved these... taking the rest to our family Christmases.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I got addicted to these the first time I made them! I used 8oz. of Chef John's chocolate chili cookies - took from freezer & let them dry out for a couple hours after crumbling up. They tasted fantastic! The raisins & chocolate chips really added to the flavor, and I'm craving them ever since. I'm making more now (same way) but will use brownies next time - which I will bake & dry out especially for these. (I bet any cookie or cake would work). I hope I'm not making the Chef mad - I swear I'll actually follow the recipe soon!! LOVE Chef John, his videos & recipes!! Thank you SO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
These are now an every holiday staple! Did add a few pecans(will try walnuts next) and cinnamon. Never do brownies without cinnamon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EMHUGHES
Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I loved these rum balls much more than the traditional ones. I used spiced rum as that's what I had, I did use quite a bit, closer to 1/3c rather than a 1/4c. I agree that 4 ounces wasn't quite enough to coat them, although that could be me as I made a right mess of the coating. The key with it is to make them about 3-4 days ahead of time so the rum has a chance to mellow out a little in taste. The amount of rum in it seems more of an approximation, how much you use depends on how stale your brownies are, that may be why another reviewer had quite liquid ones, it should be a soft paste but not liquid at all. Mine weren't very stale so I crumbled them up and left them uncovered in the fridge overnight which did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My boyfriend and I are celebrating our first Christmas together and since our families will be visiting we were trying to come up with new and exciting things to serve at dinner..... At first we were thinking of making a rum cake but of course we were looking for a way to kick it up a notch! We always use recipes from this site and when we saw the video for this one we just had to test it out so it would be perfect by the 25th,we added 1/2c of rum and the paste already tastes soooo good! I will let you know how they came out soon enough!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
OMG! They were soooo goood! I did just as the recipe said and tada! This has instantly become our new Holiday treat for "grown ups". Hic !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancineL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
These were great, easy to make and tasted delicious. Again, don't overdo it with the rum as it takes some time to soak in. I made one batch with Coruba and one with Baileys.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonarina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Looks great, BUT who ever has stale brownies? There is fresh out of the oven and 'allgone' never stale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Last year, I bought a grocery store bakery brownie and just let it sit out over night, worked out fine. What I did differently, was to add a tablespoon of Creme de Cacao (chocolate liquor) along with the rum, & I rolled them lightly in chocolate sprinkles just after the melted chocolate had set. Took them to a Christmas party and they were quite the hit! This year I'm making batches to add to other goodies for gifts. If you make these right, 5 stars is what you should be rating this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
Made the recipe as is and had problems getting the balls to harden up enough to roll. Kept them in freezer for over 2 hours with no luck. Altered recipe to 10 oz of prepared 3 day old bownies and just a smidge less than 1/4 cup rum. Worked like a charm. Also added some orange extract to the chocolate coating to add some flare. They were gone before I coud get them on the serving plate. Very easy to make with the adjustments. Thanks Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States