Holiday Rum Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
OMG! They were soooo goood! I did just as the recipe said and tada! This has instantly become our new Holiday treat for "grown ups". Hic !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrancineL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I loved these rum balls much more than the traditional ones. I used spiced rum as that's what I had, I did use quite a bit, closer to 1/3c rather than a 1/4c. I agree that 4 ounces wasn't quite enough to coat them, although that could be me as I made a right mess of the coating. The key with it is to make them about 3-4 days ahead of time so the rum has a chance to mellow out a little in taste. The amount of rum in it seems more of an approximation, how much you use depends on how stale your brownies are, that may be why another reviewer had quite liquid ones, it should be a soft paste but not liquid at all. Mine weren't very stale so I crumbled them up and left them uncovered in the fridge overnight which did the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pooch656

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Porirua, Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Sinfully rich! So good! I used a 9 x 9 inch pan of stale Gluten Free brownies (Betty Crocker)... A 1/4 of which had already been eaten (Oops). I crumbled the brownies in a food processor and added a little more than 1/4C Rum... they were strong, but for the better! Four ounces of dark chocolate was not enough to coat these. I had some semi sweet chocolate chips on hand that I used to coat the remaining. Husband loved these... taking the rest to our family Christmases.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
So, I wanted to make something for a baking contest at work. I am a beginner baker, so i wanted something as easy as possible. These rum balls involved no baking, and they tasted awesome! The only thing i will say, is im not sure if maybe i didnt do something right, but when i took them out of the fridge to roll, they stuck to my hands!! These things were incredibly sticky!! I tried rolling them different ways, but i eventually ended up just dunking them in the melted chocolate as is. i didnt get the prefectly round balls as in the picture (more like piles of poo..) but, they tasted delicious!! =P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
My boyfriend and I are celebrating our first Christmas together and since our families will be visiting we were trying to come up with new and exciting things to serve at dinner..... At first we were thinking of making a rum cake but of course we were looking for a way to kick it up a notch! We always use recipes from this site and when we saw the video for this one we just had to test it out so it would be perfect by the 25th,we added 1/2c of rum and the paste already tastes soooo good! I will let you know how they came out soon enough!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2012
I got addicted to these the first time I made them! I used 8oz. of Chef John's chocolate chili cookies - took from freezer & let them dry out for a couple hours after crumbling up. They tasted fantastic! The raisins & chocolate chips really added to the flavor, and I'm craving them ever since. I'm making more now (same way) but will use brownies next time - which I will bake & dry out especially for these. (I bet any cookie or cake would work). I hope I'm not making the Chef mad - I swear I'll actually follow the recipe soon!! LOVE Chef John, his videos & recipes!! Thank you SO much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2012
I put wayyyy toooo much alcohol.... I had to use cognac instead of rum because that's what I had. It really knocked me on my .... . I guess this dessert was more difficult than I expected it to be because things just didn't seem to go right. Used powdered sugar instead of cocoa powder - it balanced out the alcohol. I will probably not make this again for a while though it was quite good. Ridiculously indulgent though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2012
Looks like a terrific recipe. My problem is that there are never stale brownies around in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Golden Rum Cake

A yummy, rummy Bundt cake with a simple butter-rum glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States