Holiday Ribbon Gelatin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I have made this reciepe for years with one addition whipcream in the lemon jello. It one that all will love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chino Hills, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
I used to make this yummy salad back in the 1970's for my brother Mark. He loved it so much and always asked me to make it for him. Over time I had lost the recipe, but thanks to All-Recipes, hooray it's back in the line-up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MANORBOOKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This jello looked beautiful but I wasnt crazy about the middle layer... way too much mayo...Next time I will leave out the mayo. I found the exact recipe but the substituted 1 pkg of dream whip for the mayo...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
When I first thought of making this recipe, did not like the idea of the mayo in the second layer. Therefore, did not add the mayo, nor the pineapple. With the lemon jello, just used the cream cheese - remember to spoon this layer in carefully - I 'poured' it and it went through the bottom layer....oops! Next time will certainly use 2 packages of lemon jello (and 2 cream cheese) - to double the middle layer. I also used STRAWBERRY instead of cherry. Delicious - loved by all, both adults and children. Very festive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jules
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Hmm.... why on earth does the middle layer have mayonnaise?? I don't understand it's purpose, you can taste it. Next time I will definitely leave that out. I did alter it (used strawberry soy yogurt, extra mini marshmallows--about 1.5 cups + lite miracle whip.) Perfect texture, and very pretty, but never again will I put any kind of mayo in it. The marshmallow & jello mixed together + either cream cheese or yoghurt probably would have been just fine. Next time.. (which there will be, it's good enough to make again.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I brought this to a family Christmas party a few years ago and I've been asked to bring it again 2 or 3 times since then, so I guess everyone must have liked it! I enjoyed it and thought the 3 layers went well together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
The prep time is a little long but the effect of the red, white, and green is stunning. My family loves this recipe and now asks for it every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conroe, Texas, USA
Living In: Groves, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
this was definitely a hit. the kids loved the looks and the adults loved the taste! everyone had their preferences... daughter prefers to not have any pineapple chunks in the middle layer. i prefer to double the middle layer because it's what makes this more than just jello. experiment with different flavors for different times of the year... can't really go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I made this for our Christmas dinner this year and thought it was a pretty alternative to the "fluff" salad that I usually make. The kids gave it mixed reviews...some loved it & some didn't like the middle layer. Like one of the other reviewers, I spilled it setting it in the fridge the last time. Her idea about pouring the last layer with it in the fridge is probably a good one. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2007
This is a really easy recipe to make and a nice alternative to serve with all the other heavy holiday items that are usually around. I made this for two different family gatherings. First time, in my haste I forgot to add the pineapple in the middle layer so I just carefully spread it on top before putting the cherry layer on and didn't make much difference except showing through a little. Also, unless you have a pan with high sides, I learned it's a good idea to pour the last layer in with the pan in place in the refrigerator. Even with being very careful, I still managed to spill some of the cherry layer, on the floor and on myself. A nice staining red color! Next time, I had the pan already in the fridge and I just poured it in with one of my large glass measuring cups with a spout. This dish could easily be adapted for other holidays using different color gelatins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States