Holiday Pumpkin Cake with Rum-Cream Cheese Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
My family loved this cake. I like recipes specifically for my Bundt cake pan because a little dusting of powdered sugar dusting will do when you want to cut back on calories or just lighten it up. The glaze is delicious if you want to go all the way. This is now a permanent part of my holiday recipe collection because it is so easy to take to the bake sale or holiday dinner. When I take this cake out I make sure to substitute orange extract, dried or fresh orange peel, OR vanilla extract for the rum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
I made the Rum - Cream Cheese Glaze to pour over a spice cake. It was wonderful and very easy to make. Thank you! I will try it with the pumpkin cake next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
I feel bad to be rating a recipe so low but there are some pretty big problems with this one. First, please be aware that the recipe calls for self-rising flour, not all-purpose. I did not notice this until after mixing it all together and realizing there was no baking powder or baking soda in the recipe! I managed to mix in a tsp. of baking powder at the end before baking but ideally it should be added with the dry ingredients. I believe 3 cups of pumpkin puree is too much. All I had on hand was a 15 oz. can and it was plenty. Also, there is no baking time indicated! It just says to bake it till done. I baked mine till a toothpick came out clean (approx. 55-60 min.) but the texture towards the middle of the cake was a little too dense and almost undercooked so I think it could have used a bit more time in the oven or maybe that is just the texture of this cake. I really wanted to like it for a Fall recipe but it needs some fine tuning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Awesome cake, and actually Valerie there is a cookoing time- 1 hr. and all cooks should read the recipe before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I'm only rating the glaze here - it's EXCELLENT and I will be using it many times in the future, for sure. The cake recipe sounds yummy too, and I will try it, but didn't have the time yesterday. I used the 2-ingredient Pumpkin Cake recipe, but added some eggs & a splash of oil - really good & simple! This glaze was the perfect finishing though - really spiffed up a simple cake!! THANK YOU for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: West Linn, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
My wife loved it.....very moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baricat
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Wonderful, fabulous, superb, and every other splendiferous adjective you can come up with! I used cooked, mashed sweet potatoes in place of the pumpkin because they were $.25 a pound today. Laced the cake with 2 Tb of rum and added 2 tsp ginger. Note about self rising flour: measure 2 cups all purpose flour, and remove 1 tablespoon (either discard that Tb or return it back to the flour bag.) To the remaining scant 2 cups of flour, add 1 tablespoon baking powder and 1/2 tsp salt. Voila! Your own self rising flour. Baking took 70 minutes in my recently calibrated oven to get a clean toothpick with only a few, tiny crumbs clinging. Made the glaze with 1 Tb Tortuga Gold rum and replaced the milk with orange juice, adding a half tsp freshly grated orange zest. The orange imparted subtle counterpoint to the spices and gave a fresh, bright taste. This cake bakes up nice and high for a stunning presentation. It's an impressive cake for important events, like big holiday parties or family gatherings. Your baking skills will be impossible to deny if you make this one. It's a show-stopper for sure, and as super moist and delectable as it was beautiful to look at. Thank you for an outstanding holiday recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
I am a huge fan of anything pumpkin during the holidays, and this cake really hit the spot. The flavor and texture of the cake is perfect and are complimented well by the cream cheese glaze. This is one of the best pumpkin recipes i've come across and i found the outcome thoroughly enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
Didn't make the cake, so can't comment, but I did put the glaze on an apple bundt cake and it was delish! I'll try this glaze again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
Just wanted to say the glaze was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile

Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States