Holiday Pumpkin Cake with Rum-Cream Cheese Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This review is for the glaze only. No snub to the cake recipe intended at all, it's just that I had a cake mix I wanted to use. If the cake is as good as the glaze I will be sure and remember to try that too. This glaze is perfect and awesome good! The measurements are right on, the consistency is perfect and the rum extract is a creative and brilliant addition for a pumpkin cake. In addition to being delicious it's a beautiful glaze too, lusciously thick and glossy. I'll definitely keep this glaze in mind for other cakes in the future too, varying flavors as the cake would dictate. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Amazing cake - everyone loved it - Even with the extra 10 minutes baking time - it needed a little longer in the oven. the 30 minutes cooling time really makes a difference with my bundt cake pan - first cake i ever took out and it didn't crack. Dense - flavorful without being too pumpkin-y
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dionosaur
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I hate pumpkin pie, so I wanted to try something different with pumpkin that I might like. I made this for Thanksgiving and I am making another one right now, as it was requested by visiting relatives. Everyone (myself included) loved it. I made one change and that was I put a layer of brown sugar, cinnamon and butter in the middle. Also the glaze came out perfect, I have never made a glaze that set up so nicely. But then, I am impatient and don't usually wait until it is completely cool, and I sprinkled some cinnamon on top of the glaze just for effect and it looked and tasted great. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I will definitely be making this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dionosaur
Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Hereford, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was a huge hit with my family! It was delicious and very moist as promised. I set it out before dinner on the dessert table and half of it was gone before dinner was served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Sandown, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lace
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This review is for the glaze only - The consistency of this glaze was incredible! It stayed exactly where I wanted it. I ended up adding no more than 1 extra tsp of milk, a few drops at a time. The flavor was also really good. My family really enjoyed it on a pumpkin cake (different recipe). I would definitely use this glaze for other cakes and vary it with vanilla or almond extracts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I made this cake twice: the first time, I used the specified 3 cups of pumpkin, and the cake deflated into a dense, chewy, not-so-hot excuse for a cake while it cooled. Then I made it a second time, with only 1 1/2 cups of pumpkin, and the result was an unbelievably delicious cake that was devoured in a single day at my husband's office and won me a reputation for culinary brilliance. The moral is that this cake deserves five stars IF YOU CUT THE PUMPKIN IN HALF. Otherwise, it barely rates three. On the other hand, the glaze was deliciously addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I made this cake yesterday and followed the directions as written, but I had to bake it for an additional 10 minutes. It was okay. The flavor seems to be missing something. Maybe more pumpkin pie spice, ginger or cinnamon. The consistency of the cake was more like that of a steamed pudding. It was very dense and moist. If I made this again, I would reduce the amount of sugar. The combination of the cake with the glaze was overly sweet, but some people like that. Thank you for the recipe. I enjoyed making it, but I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I only used the glaze portion of this recipe and it was great - not too sweet and easy to make. I also made a vanilla version of this by subs the rum with vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Humfleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
If you love pumpkin pie but want a different take on it, you will love this recipe. It was easy to make and every one loved it. Cake needs to be completely cooled before you put on glaze. I was in a hurry when I made this and didn't wait long enough before I made the glaze so it melted but it was still delicious. The glaze is to die for, will use on other items!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I know it says the bake time is hour, but it has to be wrong. I bake all the time, and this cake was nowhere near done in an hour. After 1 hr. 45 minutes it still was not done. In the future, I would add less canned pumpkin - I think the amount of pumpkin kept the cake from setting up. The glaze; however, was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States