Holiday Pumpkin Cake with Rum-Cream Cheese Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
Amazing cake - everyone loved it - Even with the extra 10 minutes baking time - it needed a little longer in the oven. the 30 minutes cooling time really makes a difference with my bundt cake pan - first cake i ever took out and it didn't crack. Dense - flavorful without being too pumpkin-y
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dionosaur
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I hate pumpkin pie, so I wanted to try something different with pumpkin that I might like. I made this for Thanksgiving and I am making another one right now, as it was requested by visiting relatives. Everyone (myself included) loved it. I made one change and that was I put a layer of brown sugar, cinnamon and butter in the middle. Also the glaze came out perfect, I have never made a glaze that set up so nicely. But then, I am impatient and don't usually wait until it is completely cool, and I sprinkled some cinnamon on top of the glaze just for effect and it looked and tasted great. Thanks for sharing this recipe, I will definitely be making this every year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dionosaur
Home Town: Norwalk, California, USA
Living In: Hereford, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was a huge hit with my family! It was delicious and very moist as promised. I set it out before dinner on the dessert table and half of it was gone before dinner was served!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kingston, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Sandown, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lace
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
This review is for the glaze only - The consistency of this glaze was incredible! It stayed exactly where I wanted it. I ended up adding no more than 1 extra tsp of milk, a few drops at a time. The flavor was also really good. My family really enjoyed it on a pumpkin cake (different recipe). I would definitely use this glaze for other cakes and vary it with vanilla or almond extracts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lace

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
I made this cake twice: the first time, I used the specified 3 cups of pumpkin, and the cake deflated into a dense, chewy, not-so-hot excuse for a cake while it cooled. Then I made it a second time, with only 1 1/2 cups of pumpkin, and the result was an unbelievably delicious cake that was devoured in a single day at my husband's office and won me a reputation for culinary brilliance. The moral is that this cake deserves five stars IF YOU CUT THE PUMPKIN IN HALF. Otherwise, it barely rates three. On the other hand, the glaze was deliciously addictive!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hyattsville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I made this cake yesterday and followed the directions as written, but I had to bake it for an additional 10 minutes. It was okay. The flavor seems to be missing something. Maybe more pumpkin pie spice, ginger or cinnamon. The consistency of the cake was more like that of a steamed pudding. It was very dense and moist. If I made this again, I would reduce the amount of sugar. The combination of the cake with the glaze was overly sweet, but some people like that. Thank you for the recipe. I enjoyed making it, but I don't think I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
I only used the glaze portion of this recipe and it was great - not too sweet and easy to make. I also made a vanilla version of this by subs the rum with vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Humfleet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
If you love pumpkin pie but want a different take on it, you will love this recipe. It was easy to make and every one loved it. Cake needs to be completely cooled before you put on glaze. I was in a hurry when I made this and didn't wait long enough before I made the glaze so it melted but it was still delicious. The glaze is to die for, will use on other items!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I know it says the bake time is hour, but it has to be wrong. I bake all the time, and this cake was nowhere near done in an hour. After 1 hr. 45 minutes it still was not done. In the future, I would add less canned pumpkin - I think the amount of pumpkin kept the cake from setting up. The glaze; however, was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katherine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
HUGE HIT!! Even my super picky hubby, who usually doesn't like sweets, likes this cake. Beautiful presentation and smells yummy coming out of the oven! All who have said there is no time indicated, have failed to read the very beginning of the recipe... right next to the picture is prep, cook and total time until ready. I agree that all cooks should read through entire recipe before starting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States