Holiday Pumpkin Cake with Rum-Cream Cheese Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I do not know what went wrong but my cake came out very dense and not done even after 1 hr. and 20 min. of cooking time. I did not care for the rum flavoring in the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Eatonton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Used the glaze from this recipe for Mary Anne's Carrot cake. I can't rate the cake but the glaze was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I actually made a different cake--pumpkin cake III which was very good but I did make this rum icing and it was fantastic! Definitely will be using the icing in the future and I'll try this recipe too--it's very similar to the other except for the self-rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This review is for the glaze...yummy! The perfect topping for a pumpkin cake. I made this in a glass bowl, sitting on top of a small pot of simmering water. Stirred with a hand blender for a smooth consistency. The only thing I would change is two tablespoons of milk, this is a bit thick. THANK YOU for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I bake a lot and it appeared to have too much pumpkin in ratio to the other ingredients. Next time I will use cups of pumpkin or cooked mashed sweet potatoe. 4 3/4 stars I carried it to a church function and the platter was cleaned, Recieved many compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
The cake was beautiful, but just didn't taste right. The texture was appealing at all. I agree with everyone and say less pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Yummy! This review is only for the glaze. Next time I'll try the cake too. I added the glaze to a spice cake, and everyone devoured it. Only change was rum to vanilla. Thanks for a super great tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
YUM! This is a keeper. Thank you Kristi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Only used the glaze (needed a recipe for it!) - but wow is it good! Looking forward to trying the cake in the Fall. :) I cut the sugar down to 1 cup and increased the milk to 2-3 TB, and it gave a lovely and creamy topping.. not a glaze per se, but like a whipped cream dollop. I just piled some on a slice of my carrot cake and it was exactly what I needed. I'm so glad to have found a cream cheese topping that doesn't require pounds of it. :) P.S. I melted my butter and then whipped it up into the cream cheese (texture got weird at first, which scared me - but after the sugar, it's fine). I added the powdered sugar with a spoon, and then used the mixer to whip it up to a velvetty texture. I omitted the rum and used vanilla. I know I know, I really messed with it, but it's an excellent base recipe and very forgiving. :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This review is for the glaze only. No snub to the cake recipe intended at all, it's just that I had a cake mix I wanted to use. If the cake is as good as the glaze I will be sure and remember to try that too. This glaze is perfect and awesome good! The measurements are right on, the consistency is perfect and the rum extract is a creative and brilliant addition for a pumpkin cake. In addition to being delicious it's a beautiful glaze too, lusciously thick and glossy. I'll definitely keep this glaze in mind for other cakes in the future too, varying flavors as the cake would dictate. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States