Holiday Pumpkin Cake with Rum-Cream Cheese Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I don't know if I did something wrong but the cake was uncooked after 1 and 1/2 hr. in the oven. I think I would cut back on the pumpkin. Taste was good but way too gooey. Perhaps the original receipe user made a typo in the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
I do not know what went wrong but my cake came out very dense and not done even after 1 hr. and 20 min. of cooking time. I did not care for the rum flavoring in the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Eatonton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
Used the glaze from this recipe for Mary Anne's Carrot cake. I can't rate the cake but the glaze was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Hood McConnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I actually made a different cake--pumpkin cake III which was very good but I did make this rum icing and it was fantastic! Definitely will be using the icing in the future and I'll try this recipe too--it's very similar to the other except for the self-rising flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This review is for the glaze...yummy! The perfect topping for a pumpkin cake. I made this in a glass bowl, sitting on top of a small pot of simmering water. Stirred with a hand blender for a smooth consistency. The only thing I would change is two tablespoons of milk, this is a bit thick. THANK YOU for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
I bake a lot and it appeared to have too much pumpkin in ratio to the other ingredients. Next time I will use cups of pumpkin or cooked mashed sweet potatoe. 4 3/4 stars I carried it to a church function and the platter was cleaned, Recieved many compliments
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
The cake was beautiful, but just didn't taste right. The texture was appealing at all. I agree with everyone and say less pumpkin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Yummy! This review is only for the glaze. Next time I'll try the cake too. I added the glaze to a spice cake, and everyone devoured it. Only change was rum to vanilla. Thanks for a super great tasting recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2010
YUM! This is a keeper. Thank you Kristi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2010
Only used the glaze (needed a recipe for it!) - but wow is it good! Looking forward to trying the cake in the Fall. :) I cut the sugar down to 1 cup and increased the milk to 2-3 TB, and it gave a lovely and creamy topping.. not a glaze per se, but like a whipped cream dollop. I just piled some on a slice of my carrot cake and it was exactly what I needed. I'm so glad to have found a cream cheese topping that doesn't require pounds of it. :) P.S. I melted my butter and then whipped it up into the cream cheese (texture got weird at first, which scared me - but after the sugar, it's fine). I added the powdered sugar with a spoon, and then used the mixer to whip it up to a velvetty texture. I omitted the rum and used vanilla. I know I know, I really messed with it, but it's an excellent base recipe and very forgiving. :) Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

Pumpkin Roll Cake

Watch and learn how to make a holiday-favorite Pumpkin Roll Cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States