Holiday Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This is a beautiful moist pumpkin bread. I have made it several times and continue to get rave reviews! Don't wait for the holidays to bake and give to your friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PGivens

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This pumpkin bread was my first ever attempt at making bread at all, it was really good!! My 9 year old was helping me so I got a little distracted and forgot to put in the vegetable oil, but it still wasn't that bad, the only things I did different was 2 c white sugar and 1 c brown sugar, and I didn't have ground cloves so I added 2 tsp of pumpkin pie spice. I opted out of the walnuts and raisins and used chocolate chips instead, it was delicious!! I also used 8 mini loaf pans and baked for about 40 minutes! (just a tip, this is really good if you take a slice, spread a little butter microwave for about 10 seconds, add a few slices of banana on top and drizzle some chocolate on top) YUMMY!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimmie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Largo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
This recipe is fabulous!! I deleted the raisins and added mini chocolate chips instead. My toddlers thought it was a great snack!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
This recipe fell flat. It did not grow. I really hate wasting ingredients like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2010
I have been using almost this exact recipe since the late 1970's. I LOVE it. My nephews call it pumpkin bread cake. Family members ask for it during the holidays. I have made many variations. I prefer chopped pecans and use 1 TBSP of cinnamon, and omit the raisins. For healthier pumpkin bread, I reduce the sugar to 1 cup and use 1 cup of the baking variety of Splenda. I use Peanut, Walnut, or Grape Seed oil for Omega 3's, reduce oil to 1/4 cup and add 3/4 cup of unsweetened applesauce. I also replace about 1/2 cup of flour with 1/4 cup each of ground flax seed meal and wheat germ. You can sugar the oiled pans for a nice texture on the outside of the bread. For adult tastes, I make Rum Raisin Pumpkin Bread out of this recipe. Using my adjusted recipe from above, with the addition of the raisins and some rum. Put the raisins in a bowl and cover with rum. Put the raisins and rum in the microwave for a few minutes or so to plump the raisins until they are very soft. Let them cool for awhile and grind them in a blender or food processor before adding to the bowl with the other wet ingredients. For a change, try adding a cup of flaked coconut or white baking chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
wow this pumpkin bread fantastic! My whole family loved is it! so simple too, thanks so much for this yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
I love this recipe! I make it every year around the holidays. The only change I made was to leave out the rasins and occasionally I toss in some chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Haysville, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
this is really good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Blaine, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Great! I took the others suggestion and only used 2 1/2 cups sugar. Couldnt even tell that was a change. I also was out of nutmeg and it was perfect, not missed at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
Very moist! Made 3 loaves! Family really liked it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States