Holiday Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This bread got rave reviews. Very moist. I increased the water to 1 cup and heated it and poured over the raisins as suggested. Also added 1/4tsp to 1/2tsp ground gringer. A little struddel (brown sugar, chopped walnuts & cinnamon) gave it a nice topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by POOCHYROCKET

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
Very delicious, moist bread. It makes great cupcakes, too. I didn't make any modifications b/c the recipe is perfect as it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Any suggestions for adjusting the baking temperature and time if baking in small disposable foil loaf pans (the kind you use for giving small gifts)?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
i made this for the first time at thankgiving and it was mouth watering to die foe bread . LOVED IT...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
This bread is soooooo delicious. I left out the walnuts and raisins and you don't miss them at all. This will become a year round favorite in our family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Erimess
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
I have made this twice now. It's not super spicy or pumpkin-y either one, though it does taste better and more flavorful the next day. (There's really nothing wrong with it being less spicy.) So good overall. Here's my problems though. I've cut the recipe in half, which fits perfectly into an 8x4 pan, but it doesn't get done in the middle without overcooking on the outsides and then ending up dry. I have also used my little 3x5 pans and it does get done more easily in those, though you want it *just* done as it can get too dry easily. It appears to work better in smaller pans, though I've never seen a 7x4 in my life. (Since it makes a lot and you may want to cut back, do it yourself instead of the auto thing here, which screws stuff up.) The other issue I have is the ingredients all out of order. The first ingredient used is listed last!, one spice is totally out of place with the others, the pumpkin (used w/the wet) is behind all the dry stuff. Etc. This makes it difficult to follow and make sure you get everything in there. And I absolutely will never understand what is so difficult about putting them in order... it's not rocket science.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erimess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Very moist and flavorful bread. I made this for a special project at work, 200 1 pound loaves! Due to cost, I omitted the nuts and raisins. I got 5 pans out of one recipe. It was a huge hit with the recipients and coworkers. I kept them in the foil pans and wrapped them in both plastic wrap and foil for the freezer. Some of the loaves were left over and after a year in the freezer they were still very moist and delicious. I love this recipe and have made it several times since then and it is always a treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
I cut the recipe in half. I cut the sugar back in half again, only using 3/4 of a cup. Instead of plain water, I used a stewed/cooled cup of unsweetened honey vanilla chai for a little more flavor. I made no other changes. I made muffins out of this recipe--I got twelve muffins that were a little on the small side. These turned out okay, but for us, they weren't really pumpkin-y plus they turned out a little dry. I think had I not added the chai, they wouldn't have had much flavor, either. This was a decent recipe but next time, I'll make something with more spices and more pumpkin. Maybe it was cutting the recipe back? I really don't know and I don't have the extra ingredients to re-try this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
Best pumpkin bread ever!!! I've been making this for years and it's always a hit!!! I use all whole wheat flour, and you can't tell. I even add wheat germ. I also substitue chocolate chips for the raisins, since my kids aren't big fans of raisins. Heavenly! This bread is so moist and yummy!! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Yum! Followed another user's recommendation to substitute applesauce for most of the oil. I'm freezing the second loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States