Holiday Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
This was very good. A keeper. I cut back the sugar by 1/2 cup and left out the raisins. Nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2007
This was tasty, but even though I followed the directions, it was still undercooked. I had to bake it an extra 20 minutes at least just to make sure it was cooked all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stimpy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sierra City, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2007
This recipe is fabulous!! The only thing I changed was the sugar...I added 1.5 cups brown sugar and 1.5 cups white sugar. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy2AliJakeOwen
Home Town: Gulf Breeze, Florida, USA
Living In: Fishersville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
This was delicious. Very moist and spicy. Best recipe I've found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I was never much of a pumpkin pie fan so I thought I would try something different. This was super easy! The bread turned out so good! I am so happy with the results. I will be making this for Thanksgiving from now on! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
We love this recipe! After perusing many of the reviews, I made some modifications to increase the recipe's "healthy factor." Here is my ingredient list: 2c white flour, 2c whole wheat flour, 2c sugar, 2 tsp baking soda, 1 tsp baking powder, 1 tsp allspice, 2 tsp salt, 1 tsp nutmeg, 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp ground cloves, 1/4c canola oil, 3/4c unsweetened applesauce, 3/4c water, 4 eggs, 15 oz can pumpkin puree. Combine the dry ingredients, blend in the wet ingredients, then bake. Yummy and I feel good about giving it to my toddler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephens City, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Wow! totally wonderful and delish! I added 2 Tbsp of honey to the recipe and reduced the suger by 1/4 cup. I used 2 9x5 loaf pans and baked for 1 hr 20 mins, probably could have taken it out 5 min earlier. Nice and crispy around the edges but not burnt. Try it, you'll love it, packed full of flavor. Thanks Denise!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
I made three 5x3 loaves and one 9x5. I decreased the sugar to 2 cups, put the juice of one orange in a measuring cup, and filled it to the 3/4 cup mark with water, added the zest of the orange, used 1/4 cup of vegetable oil and 3/4 cup unsweetened homemade applesauce, and used 2 cups of unbleached flour and 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour. It was so yummy! Using the orange juice and zest gave it a really good flavor. My whole family loved it! I didn't put nuts or raisins in it because I don't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wilco

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
This was pretty good. I followed a couple of suggestions the first time and didn't care for the results. I used pumpkin pie filling and used more than the recipe called for. I did add a little more spice although not as much as the recipe called for. The spices were too strong and the bread was very heavy & dense. I decided to give it another try and following the recipe exactly turned out much better for my tastes. Good flavor & texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trout Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Gig Harbor, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Wonderful recipe. I substituted applesauce for the oil. Bread was incredibly moist and fragrant. Will definitely make again. Great as mini-loaves for friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States