Holiday Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I have been making this recipe for 2 years now and it is an amazing hit for my family. I accidentally made it the first time with 1 tap of each baking soda and powder and loved it because it was a heavier bread. I made it the way the recipe says and I didn't love it as much so I stick with one tsp. of each. Other changes I've made is, it doubles really well and they freeze really well! I made several batches before having my son (he was born in November ) and it was awesome to have breakfast and snacks ready in minutes! Lastly I have used coconut oil in place of the oil and it is amazing and much healthier! This is a staple in my house with my 3 kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2015
Always moist and amazing. I use pumpkin spice for the total of spices. If I use individual spices, I might double the amount. I have made without allspice since at a time I didn't have available and it was still great. I don't use raisins and sub 1/3 to 1/2 of the sugar with brown sugar. I also increased the salt if a taste test shows that it needs more saltiness. You can bake on small loaves and give as presents for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
This was absolutely delicious! I think best pumpkin bread I made. I followed the directions as written. I used 2 loaf pans instead and loosely placed tinfoil on top 40 min through so it wouldn't burn on top but cook inside. It was done in about 55 min
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2014
yummy and moist, left out raisins, and sprinkled nuts on top for a more decorative look, subbed out some of the flour for some ground golden flax and oat meal, also left out some of the sugar, and added extra spices because I like it that way. added some ginger and turmeric to. just for a little added health kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elisah

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NMR824
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2014
Absolutely amazing! I loved this recipe, I personally added 1/4 nutmeg, 1/4 cinnamon, and 1/4 allspice and I didn't use raisins or nuts because of family allergies. I was also using pumpkins from our garden so we puréed the pumpkin and I used that, but I added another half cup of the purée. And it turned out great, my batch made enough for a bunt cake pan and a loaf pan! I will have to try it again and maybe add some cranberries and raisins! I also made my own glaze for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2014
I wrote a review on a similar recipe but this is actually the one I use. Very small different though. The salt is less on the other one and the spices slightly different amounts. Minor with good results either way but I prefer this one. I have made this since 1970!! It freezes very well if properly wrapped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2014
Best pumpkin bread by far! Made it last year and my friends instantly became addicted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
I've been using this recipe for about 2 years and LOVE it! Changes I've made are as follows. I usually double the batch because I am usually giving some away or I freeze it for instant breakfasts for my children. When doubling, I use 7 eggs, 1 1/4 c of water, 4.5 cups of sugar, I don't add salt, only use cinnamon and a lot of it, and I use coconut oil in place of the vegetable oil. It comes out light and fluffy yet a hearty bread that sure is filling. Love this recipe and it is a staple in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I baked this for Christmas to give away to friends. It was wonderful! Moist and easy to make. I substituted only 1/2 c of applesauce for 1/2 c oil and used pecans. I think this is a versatile bread and will try experimenting next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Loved it so did the people that received it as gifts. I added chunks of fresh apple to see what it would taste like instead of raisins. Very good. This is an easy excellent recipe. Thank you E
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread

See how to make super-moist pumpkin bread studded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States