Holiday Poke Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Big hit for my picky family at Christmas eve dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andibear

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
My grandmother made this cake every year at Christmas time. It was something I always looked forward to. Seeing the recipe here brought back happy memories. Now that she is gone, I think I'll make it for my own family and continue the tradition. Everyone loves this moist, refreshing cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
I have never made a poke cake before and I was not disappointed. This went fast in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I made this for Christmas dinner and it turned out well. It was pretty simple to do and something different. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Perfect holiday cake. If your thinking the Jello in it would make it taste odd then think again. You really can't make out any gelatin elasticity and the Jello works to add a fantastic burst of flavor to the cake. I chose to use a light white whipped frosting versus the Cool-Whip and it turned out great. I can imagine it would be great with the cool whip if you were doing a variation in the Summer, for the 4th of July for instance with red, white and blue. I would make this again no question. It's worth the extra stage of adding the Jello and chilling. More than one guest said they too had made a poke cake so it's not exactly the most original recipe. You just can't lose with this one though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aaron Gregory Russo

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This cake was very yummy and easy to make. I made it about a week ago for a Christmas party to end the semester (I'm a college student) and my friends really liked it. The cakes were rich, but balanced perfectly with the light Cool Whip. Big success, and was easy to make in between exams.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Key West, Florida, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kareno
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
Tasty, easy, and pretty. Used lime and apricot gelatin and seven-minute frosting instead of whipped topping. (My frosting didn't end up fluffy but it tasted good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
My mom used to make this for us all the time. She wouldn't make a double layer though, just one layer in a 13 x 9 dish. Or she would make "Purple Poke Cake" with a blackberry jello, etc. You can use almost any kind of jello with cool whip. Very good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2008
We always called this "Jello Cake." And we used different colors for different holidays. Fourth of July, we'd use red and blue jello, and then on top of the whip cream we'd put fresh cut strawberries. I was a picky kid growing up, and this was the only cake that I liked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States