Holiday Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I love this recipe! I actually add a layer of dark chocolate on the bottom. This is my method...melt the semi-sweet or dark chocolate morsels and spread it on the prepared baking sheet and pop it into the freezer. While that is freezing I then melt the white chocolate and the small candy pieces. I then spread it over the dark chocolate and put it back into the freezer. Break into pieces and store in container or serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
747 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
On my first try the white morsels did not melt, but turned into hard clumps that had to be thrown away. I e-mailed Nestle for advice. I was told high wattage microwave should be set at only 50% and that 1-2 Tablespoons of vegetable oil added prior to melting will result in smoother, creamier melting. I added the oil and melted the chips in a double boiler for my second batch and it turned out great. Very smooth and easy to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
479 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
The best stuff! Added a layer of semi sweet chocolate underneath, & about 1/2 tsp of peppermint extract to the white chocolate. Make sure your semi sweet layer is really cold & work quickly spreading the white chocolate, or the dark chocolate will start to melt & you'll have streaks in your white!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
362 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Last Christmas I went into Williams and Sonoma and saw that they had a peppermint bark for sale. It tasted yummy but it was kind of pricey.......so I went looking for a recipe and found this one! I suggest you use more peppermint candies than are called for -- it will make it taste more like peppermint. This makes a great Christmas present -- put it in a pretty tin and wrap it with a ribbon! I should also add that I used chocolate squares and melted them over a double boiler instead of in the microwave. I find I have more control of the product that way. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
This is a very simple and fabulous gift to make for friends. I have to say though that through trial and error it works best with "Bark" rather than morsals. I use it in layers like...I do chocolate bark and let it cool and then the next layer I use with white bark and then crush the peppermint into the white while still warm. I also add a little bit of peppermint extract to the bark during the heating process to add more peppermint flavor. Works GREAT! It never lasts long when I make this! Good luck and give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This is my son's favorite holiday treat! I use half a bag of white chocolate and half a bag of semi-sweet, melted them in separate bowls and first pour the white chocolate down, then the dark on top. Then just take knife and cross-cross through the mixture making it "marbled" to your liking (but not too much or it will look muddy). I find that easier than making the two layers. I also added some peppermint extract to the chocolate layer and it is FABULOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYOUS_E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Tried it with both Nestle White Choc. morsels and white chocolate from the craft store--the Nestle morsels were a little less sweet and worked better in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
So easy to make & absolutely delicious! Everyone asked for the recipe. Instead of 24 peppermint candies, I used 6 red, white, and green striped candy canes. I found that crushing them very finely makes it taste more pepperminty; some recipes call for peppermint oil, but this doesn't need it. I did push bigger pieces into the top. You may want to make a double batch if taking to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
I MADE THIS RECIPE AT CHRISTMAS TIME AND IT WAS SOOO GOOD. I ALSO ADDED ONE TSP.(PURE)PEPPERMINT EXTRACT BECAUSE I LOVE MINT. VERY GOOD,VERY EASY TO MAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I added a layer of dark chocolate to the bottom. A great gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States