Holiday Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
So easy to make & absolutely delicious! Everyone asked for the recipe. Instead of 24 peppermint candies, I used 6 red, white, and green striped candy canes. I found that crushing them very finely makes it taste more pepperminty; some recipes call for peppermint oil, but this doesn't need it. I did push bigger pieces into the top. You may want to make a double batch if taking to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
I MADE THIS RECIPE AT CHRISTMAS TIME AND IT WAS SOOO GOOD. I ALSO ADDED ONE TSP.(PURE)PEPPERMINT EXTRACT BECAUSE I LOVE MINT. VERY GOOD,VERY EASY TO MAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Last Christmas I went into Williams and Sonoma and saw that they had a peppermint bark for sale. It tasted yummy but it was kind of pricey.......so I went looking for a recipe and found this one! I suggest you use more peppermint candies than are called for -- it will make it taste more like peppermint. This makes a great Christmas present -- put it in a pretty tin and wrap it with a ribbon! I should also add that I used chocolate squares and melted them over a double boiler instead of in the microwave. I find I have more control of the product that way. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
On my first try the white morsels did not melt, but turned into hard clumps that had to be thrown away. I e-mailed Nestle for advice. I was told high wattage microwave should be set at only 50% and that 1-2 Tablespoons of vegetable oil added prior to melting will result in smoother, creamier melting. I added the oil and melted the chips in a double boiler for my second batch and it turned out great. Very smooth and easy to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
479 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
This is tlike one of the kinds of candy my aunt makes for her delicious candy tray at Christmas and they are always the first to go! I've tried this recipe myself and it always tastes as good as the Christmas memories it brings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2001
My mother has been looking for a recipe for pepperming bark!! She was thrilled to get this one. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
GREAT!!!!I made this last night with my 3 and 10 year old. It was so easy and good. I took some to work and I have been asked by everyone for the recipe. The only problem I had was that my 10 yr old wouldn't give up the crushing (pounding) duties. I have to make another batch so my 3 yr old can crush the candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
This tastes great and doesn't take long to make (a huge plus if you're making multiple desserts). It's a festive addition to any holiday plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2002
The perfect Christmas recipe for me this year! Great presentation and delicious. And easy, too. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
VERY easy and VERY yummy! I added a few drops of green food coloring to give it a holiday twist. Just be sure to quickly spread it out onto wax paper - mine started to harden up pretty quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States