Holiday Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2005
I love this recipe! I actually add a layer of dark chocolate on the bottom. This is my method...melt the semi-sweet or dark chocolate morsels and spread it on the prepared baking sheet and pop it into the freezer. While that is freezing I then melt the white chocolate and the small candy pieces. I then spread it over the dark chocolate and put it back into the freezer. Break into pieces and store in container or serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
748 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
On my first try the white morsels did not melt, but turned into hard clumps that had to be thrown away. I e-mailed Nestle for advice. I was told high wattage microwave should be set at only 50% and that 1-2 Tablespoons of vegetable oil added prior to melting will result in smoother, creamier melting. I added the oil and melted the chips in a double boiler for my second batch and it turned out great. Very smooth and easy to spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
479 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
The best stuff! Added a layer of semi sweet chocolate underneath, & about 1/2 tsp of peppermint extract to the white chocolate. Make sure your semi sweet layer is really cold & work quickly spreading the white chocolate, or the dark chocolate will start to melt & you'll have streaks in your white!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
362 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
Last Christmas I went into Williams and Sonoma and saw that they had a peppermint bark for sale. It tasted yummy but it was kind of pricey.......so I went looking for a recipe and found this one! I suggest you use more peppermint candies than are called for -- it will make it taste more like peppermint. This makes a great Christmas present -- put it in a pretty tin and wrap it with a ribbon! I should also add that I used chocolate squares and melted them over a double boiler instead of in the microwave. I find I have more control of the product that way. Enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
284 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2002
This is a very simple and fabulous gift to make for friends. I have to say though that through trial and error it works best with "Bark" rather than morsals. I use it in layers like...I do chocolate bark and let it cool and then the next layer I use with white bark and then crush the peppermint into the white while still warm. I also add a little bit of peppermint extract to the bark during the heating process to add more peppermint flavor. Works GREAT! It never lasts long when I make this! Good luck and give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
This is my son's favorite holiday treat! I use half a bag of white chocolate and half a bag of semi-sweet, melted them in separate bowls and first pour the white chocolate down, then the dark on top. Then just take knife and cross-cross through the mixture making it "marbled" to your liking (but not too much or it will look muddy). I find that easier than making the two layers. I also added some peppermint extract to the chocolate layer and it is FABULOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
133 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOYOUS_E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwell, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Rockland, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2001
Tried it with both Nestle White Choc. morsels and white chocolate from the craft store--the Nestle morsels were a little less sweet and worked better in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
So easy to make & absolutely delicious! Everyone asked for the recipe. Instead of 24 peppermint candies, I used 6 red, white, and green striped candy canes. I found that crushing them very finely makes it taste more pepperminty; some recipes call for peppermint oil, but this doesn't need it. I did push bigger pieces into the top. You may want to make a double batch if taking to a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2002
I MADE THIS RECIPE AT CHRISTMAS TIME AND IT WAS SOOO GOOD. I ALSO ADDED ONE TSP.(PURE)PEPPERMINT EXTRACT BECAUSE I LOVE MINT. VERY GOOD,VERY EASY TO MAKE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2002
I added a layer of dark chocolate to the bottom. A great gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States