Holiday Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
This recipe is worth it! Better than the original one i tried (and paid megabucks for) at a famous coffee house chain. Instead of using the peppermint candies i used candy canes and instead of microwaving or double boiling the chocolate to melt it, i simply boiled a pot of water and added each bag of chips into its own ziploc baggie, when completely melted, i snipped off the corner and used it as a squeeze bag! Very easy clean up! The kids loved smashing the candy canes so it was a fun, easy, fast resulting dessert! Served mine with coffee after dinner. A hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
A great and easy recipe that my kids helped me make for Christmas. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Pierson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This was excellent. I followed the advice of others and put a layer of semi sweet choc on the bottom. I put it in the freezer while I melted the white chocolate. I also added 1 tsp of peppermint extract to the white chocolate. I did try to work fast, but still had a little streaking of the dark chocolate. I then put the candy canes on top and put back in the freezer. The only other problem I had was one spot of the dark chocolate, about the size of a piece of bread, that didn't harden on the bottom. My husband didn't mind. He had some to snack on off the parchment paper. It was a little difficult to break up, but I used a knife to break it up. Very good and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Whiteland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakingBot
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Simple, easy, tasty, and looks as though it is difficult to make. Great for entertaining. I would partition or at least indent the chocolate before it cools, because if not, it tends to break unevenly & is difficult to make presentable and uniform.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BakingBot

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Super easy. Pretty and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Centralia, Washington, USA
Living In: Rochester, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
I wanted a dark chocolate layer on the bottom, so I melted milk chocolate chips and spread them in the pan first, then put it in the freezer for about 15 min before adding the white chocolate layer. The layers stayed together perfectly and the final bark got rave reviews! If I had known it was so easy to make such yummy peppermint bark I would have been adding it to my holiday baking tradition years ago!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Simple, delicious recipe. Made a bunch for Christmas. It is good with just the layer of white chocolate but it's also very good with a layer of semisweet on the bottom. I don't like the look of it when you add enough crushed candy to make it taste really minty so I would definitely add peppermint extract to the chocolate. Even if you are only doing the layer of white, the extract makes it really taste like peppermint.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by prissyhippie
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
i've had better peppermint bark. it seemed like it was missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prissyhippie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: South Hill, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
This is really good, especially with about a tsp of peppermint extract, but I only gave it four becuase of how hard it was to break up without the candy cane pieces going all over my kichen floor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Very easy to make & tasted perfect will make again next Christmas to give to friends & family as gifts
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LISANLAUREN

Displaying results 141-150 (of 291) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States