Holiday Peppermint Bark Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
Super easy, super yummy,. Microwave melting of chocolate is always risky, the extra few minutes using double boiler method is well worth it! Improvise one from 2 pans if you don't have a traditional double boiler. Tip: soft candy canes are to die for on their own....but are much more tender than using the starlite mints.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie Brundege

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Victor, New York, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
My husband and I really love this! Also made it with the dark chocolate layer. Bark wouldn't "break" very well, though, so I think I'll need to make the next batch a little thinner. The white and dark also separate a little so will try the suggestion of letting the dark layer only cool slightly before adding the white. Thanks for the great holiday recipe! UPDATE 12/9: Made this again and swirled the dark and white chocolate together as suggested by another reviewer. Worked really well, looked pretty, and the layers stayed together! Any suggestions on how to keep the milk chocolate from drying out? LOVE this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
This recipe is so easy even my 5yr. old can make it! We have so much fun making x-mas candy together for our family, and this is very easy and fast. This recipe is a keeper! Note that if you use the microwave stir chips every 30 sec. on high. I also added a 1/2teas. of shortening to the chips as i was melting them. Put wax paper on a cookie sheet and lightly sprayed pam cooking spray on the wax paper before pouring the mixture on it. Came out very pretty. It went very fast!! GREAT RECIPE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
It turned out like I expected :) I'm not a huge fan of white chocolate myself, so I think next time I might add a little regular chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney07

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2009
very good! it turned out perfect on my first try, and i love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
I also added a chocolate base layer. I used Ghiradelli bittersweet and it worked really well. I didn't realize that white chocolate is much harder to melt into a smooth consistency- I had to add oil and it was still kind of clumpy, but it worked fine. Next time I will try the double boiler method to get better results. If your white chocolate is a little thick like mine was, make sure you press the peppermint into the chocolate so when it hardens it stays in there well. Lastly, next time I will use a bigger cookie sheet so the bark is thinner. I doubled the recipe and used a small cookie sheet. The bark was a little thick and hard to break. Can't wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2009
Makes a great gift for teachers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Not BCrocker

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
ver easy to make, a very good gift to give!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by motherofthree

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
i loved this recipie. it was what brought me to this site!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2009
If you use the microwave to melt the chocolate, keep a close eye on it! It is done when some of the pieces still hold their shape but are nonetheless gooey, so don't over-nuke them! Stir it frequently to check on it. (If you find it drying out, try adding butter to smooth it out!) I usually use candy canes, which I put in the food processor on pulse. This easily creats some of that fine dust that others say to reserve for the top for a nice sheen. The best candy to use for this, though, are the semi-soft sort of peppermint sticks, but just put them in a plastic bag and beat them with a rolling pin, as they are a little trickier to work with, but they melt in your mouth! After you let the mixture cool, slam the bark on the counter, and use a real sharp knife to drive the tip into bigger pieces in order to further break them up. This tip is really useful if you make big batches like I do that can result in rather thick pieces. The original recipe here is pretty basic, so you can jazz it up however you like. I give this recipe four stars because it did not mention any peppermint oil, which adds a lovely extra hint of flavor to it that is simply a must, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 121-130 (of 292) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Peppermint Bark

These 5-star Christmas candies are layered with chocolate and peppermint.

How to Make Holiday Rum Balls

Make this classic holiday treat using leftover brownies!

Viennese Crescent Holiday Cookies

Serve a taste of tradition with these light, buttery cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States