Holiday ONLY Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2005
This is similar to how I make mine. Just a hint to those of you that complained of gooey, etc. Heat the cream/milk and butter before mixing it. Never use cold milk and butter. I just heat it 30-60 seconds in the microwave when I'm ready for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
286 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
These were wonderful!!! Thank you for the great recipe, as I will be using it for all our families special meals. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2005
Truly a great recipe. Any leftovers make really good potatoe cakes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2004
I had a 10 pound bag of white potatoes, so I used them instead. Peeled all but 5 in the bag and quartered them and cooked them on low until they were falling apart. Drained, mashed and added salt & pepper, 2 sticks real butter, 4 oz cream cheese and heavy cream to get the consistency I wanted. After mashing and beating with hand mixer, I put in my crock pot dotted with some more butter on low for 1-1/2 to 2 hours until the rest of the meal was ready. They were the best mashed potatoes ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
198 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
Since being vegan, I tried this recipe with soy milk creamer, tasted like you used real half and half. Plus it cuts down the fat drastically.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
Thanks for the great recipe Nancy. My husband absolutely loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2003
These were pretty good. I used half&half instead of the heavy cream and a little less butter. I think next time I will add parsley or maybe rosemary. For special occasions I suggest using the heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2003
I just scrub the potatoes and cube them leaving the peel on. I also like to cook the potatoes in chicken bouillon. When I do cook with the bouillon I have to be careful adding any addition salt. Also, like some other reviewers I add garlic powder to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2003
Very good! I did not have any heavy cream on hand, so I used Cool Whip as a substitute, and they were delicious! Salt took the sweet edge off, and the potatoes were very fluffy, definately not gluey! Thanks Nancy! With the cool whip, you can enjoy these everyday!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
These are awesome. I make these all the time for my husband who loves them. I do add some garlic powder or roasted garlic to mix it up a bit. Thanks for posting. A keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Florissant, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Ultimate Mashed Potatoes

Discover the simple secret to the most amazing holiday mashers ever.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States