Holiday ONLY Mashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
Fantastic Potatoes, perfect for thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Perfect mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
Amazing ..... thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
This recipe is how I typically make my potatoes with one exception -- normally I use milk and, honestly, I didn't notice a difference with the heavy cream. Anyway, my trick for perfect mashed potatoes I learned from a chance viewing of a few minutes of Cooking with Emeril (or whatever it was called...) several years ago. He instructed to return the drained potatoes to the pot for a few minutes before adding the ingredients and mashing them. The heat removes the excess moisture. I didn't watch to see how he recommended mashing them but I have always used an electric mixer (now a stand mixer) and ever since I began following his method I have not had that gummy, gluey, watery, whatever-you-wanna-call-it it's yucky consistency. Give it a try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
Nope, you do not have to peel a red potatoe:) The skin is fleshy and add some health to that cream. I LOVE HEAVY CREAM. AND REAL BUTTER!!! The Russets I do peel. Find them even better than the overpriced Yukons. Irish girl here, and I do not like to do the dishes, pair of glove mits and pour off the water, return the spuds to the pan on the low burner, hmmm, excess moisture evaporates. Add my butter and the heavy cream to the potatoes in the same pan and let it bubble just a bit. Off of the burner and mash the old fashioned way. Aaaaah, these can not be beat by any chef!!!!! AND sometimes I even beef it up by adding White Cheddar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Geigertown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MagicallyDelicious
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Easy & delicious. I normally make mine with 2% milk so this was quite a splurge but it does make them much creamier. Definitely a special occasion ingredient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MagicallyDelicious

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Champaign, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I had the same problem others had--the consistancy was much like elmer's glue (I followed the directions to a T)!! These were simply too thick. I think I'll stick to the normal milk and butter for my potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I found the taste of these with cream to actually taste worse than with the no fat milk I usually use. I might just be so use to nofat, but I would not make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
Excellent recipe. The only thing I did was follow the advice of another reviewer and heated the heavy cream. I will definately be serving this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paso Robles, California, USA
Living In: Central Point, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 91) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Roasted Garlic Mashed Potatoes

The sweet flavor of roasted garlic makes these mashed potatoes to savor.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes Secret Recipe

This "secret recipe" is so delicious, you just might want to double it.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States